We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please fix the problems, they are minor and not worth your reputation.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Moab Utah USA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Please fix the problems, they are minor and not worth your reputation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

As a hospitality business owner I have a difficult time seeing such great property with such great potentials and so many little Issues.
Second time around in this Hotel and things are not as great as they used to be.
Our room was clean, the bed very comfy , fridge, TV, towels, coffee maker, all great , no problems there.
They do have some maintenance issues. Tiles in the elevator are broken, internet was down and the lady at the front desk told us that that it was Sunday and there would be no technician until the day after, the indoor pool was very clean and very inviting but cold, and when I say cold, I mean COLD! Colorado Tap water cold!
They told us that the heater was broken and parts were on the way. They have 2 computer upfront for their guests to use and one of them had a sign on that said "not working, parts are on its way".
Breakfast was OK, very minimal continental with great tasting orange juice, they advertise warm waffles, but I couldn't see any, maybe I showed up too late, it was 8:40 am.
They have coffee pots upfront, very inviting with sugars and creamers and cups and straws... no coffee when we arrived, empty when we came back from dinner, dry when we left after breakfast, I am sure it was my bad timing.
Sad because I love their property and their setting with the swimming pool inside and their NON SMOKING policy is second to none,
Another thing, I walked in and their price is 99 per night plus tax. This is a great price already , but I went online in the lobby on my phone and filled up the form on their website.One minute later and we get 89 per night plus tax. Why can't she just do this for us at the desk? She told me that she does not have the "Authority" to do so. Why is their superiors so "Obtuse"? Maybe the same reason why the place is needing some work and things are not getting done. I wish to return , hopefully by then this minor issues will be solved.
Thank you for reading this, I am telling you to stay here, just don't jump in the pool, put your toes in first and check the temp!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DesertHillsBnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    321
    190
    93
    50
See reviews for
367
302
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I took a chance on this hotel by booking it without knowing much about the place. I was most pleasantly surprised. The staff was very friendly and helpful, advice and suggestions about local attractions were very helpful.The hotel was modern and well maintained, we were very pleased with our well equipped room. Hot breakfast was included. Hotel was quiet and close to services and highways.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Attila7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Lodge, MT
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This place appears nice on the outside and pretty good on the inside til you look around a little....everything and I mean everything is in bad need of some maintenance. There is no base boards in the bathroom....screws holding the door moldings on the wall, wallpaper falling off, deadbolts a joke and a third grader must have put putty on the door jamb to fill up old screw holes.

Room Tip: go to the White Eagle Inn on the south end of Cortez...a much better value. Very, very clean with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank randh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2011

Rooms are basic, but served the purpose and were clean. Service was excellent!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aksweetie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Lakes, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

I'm a little puzzled about the reviews for this hotel as we stayed for one night a couple of weeks ago on our way to Arizona and found it to be very nice. We had a very large room with a mico/fridge and the room was very clean. The breakfast was one of the best we have had with a variety of breakfast items. It was better than most. We travel about once a month so this facility was among one of the nicer ones we have found. There was a restaurant right next door and a Denny's next door to it. The staff was very accommodating and the manager was at the front desk when we checked out and he was very friendly and he appeared to interact with his staff in a very positive way. He was very upbeat and, in my opinion, an asset to that hotel. We will definitely stay there the next time we go through Cortez which will be in another couple of months.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a micro/fridge as all rooms do not have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank queen313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

The only good thing about this place is that the room is HUGE. But it's old, and like other reviewers, it needs some major updating. The staff is super friendly. The beds are old and rickety but passable. The vent in the fan was disgusting. My boyfriend pulled it out and it was basically black with dust and dirt. We cleaned it out ourselves in order to make the AC work properly. The cleaning staff really need to work on details when vacuuming. We dropped something near the headboard and when I reached down to grab it, I saw that the back was filled with lots of dust and dirt and a couple of old tissues. The entire room just had a dingy feeling to it, from the carpet to the pillows to the bedsheets. I wasn't at ease staying here and couldn't really sleep the entire night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPlanningHog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed at this property one night in late September 2011, during a three week Colorado road trip. This was the worse property we experienced. We were told that the only rooms available were jacuzzi king suites and the best available rate was $129/ night. We were also told that this was the AAA rate although this is more then what is in the AAA book.
The room was tired appearing and smelled stale, the bedspread did not look fresh and had spots or stains on it. The TV was old (see photo) and did not have good picture quality. The jacuzzi had a large crack that appeared to have been previously repaired but the crack extended a couple of inches beyond the repair. See photo. We were concerned that the tub would leak and the hygienic risks of using a jacuzzi with a large crack. We stopped at the front desk on our way out to dinner to draw attention to the fact that the jacuzzi was cracked and our concerns about using it. Staff said they would send someone to look at it when they were able to. We asked that they do this when we were back in the room and agreed to let them know when we returned. When we returned an hour later we were told that they had gone to the room while we were out, had checked the tub and that it was "just a surface crack and should be OK to use". This did not reassure us. We spoke to the man who checked us out the next morning and who identified himself as the manager, stating that we were disappointed that although we were charged for a jacuzzi room, we could not use the jacuzzi because of the crack and that staff had gone into the room while we were out despite agreeing to wait until our return. He was rude.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KMMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Address: 2279 Hawkins Street, Cortez, CO 81321 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Cortez
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez Hotel Cortez
Comfort Inn Cortez
Cortez Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing