We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What would you expect for the price?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Cornwall
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What would you expect for the price?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This was the cheapest room we had on our entire trip. Room could have smelled a bit better, but clean and functional. Breakfast was fine, the lady assisting guests was very kind. Felt she should be having fun somewhere not waiting tables or even retired! Overall cannot complain - value for money if that is what you are looking for.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Godiva6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Cortez, Owner at Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments and your business. Our goal is to provide affordable rooms, and I am happy to hear that we met that goal for you. You are correct that our breakfast hostess could be retired, but she loves the chance to chat with all our guests. She is a great asset.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    119
    118
    40
    18
See reviews for
110
133
31
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

At 2:30am i found a bed bug crawling across my sheet and brought it to the front desk. Horrifying. The attendant on duty offered us another room, but we were not interested in staying the rest of the night in a motel with bedbugs and had to find another place to stay at 3am. Though they refunded us the cost of the room, the Motel 8 manager was condecending and rude and refused any compensation for the stress and inconvenience it caused that night and brought to the rest of our trip. As bedbugs are a spreading epidemic, I did not feel comfortable bringing my luggage into another hotel. I also will have to completely launder and clean everything I brought with on my trip before bringing it into my own house. The manager I spoke to not only accused me of bringing the bedbug into the hotel, she seemed to think it was ok to not be concerned about spreading it to other hotels as she claimed there probably wasn't a bed bug in my luggage, an irresponsible strategy I would say for someone in the hospitality industry. I would highly recommend staying elsewhere in Cortez.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikolbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Cortez, Owner at Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
The day after this guest checked-out we had our Orkin technician, who does our regular pest control, completely inspected the room, and he reported no sign of current or previous infestation.

Also, the request for "additional compensation" was made along with the statement that if the compensation was not forthcoming, a "bad reveiw" would be posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This has to be one of the best places we have stayed at during our 6 weeks of car travel around the Southwestern National Parks. We had a nice size room with plenty of space to put our luggage and belonging. It was clean, quiet, w/refrigetator, microwave and very comfortable beds, Also their WiFi had the best reception we had anywhere. Their breakfast area was large, had an excellent variety of breakfast foods, juice, etc. and the service person was delightful. Our 3 day stay was great from the day we arrived to the day we left. As an aside, I am appalled at some of the other unfair commeents that have been posted for this motel...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marito326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Cortez, Owner at Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your buisness and your comments. I an happy to hear you were please with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've stayed at this Super 8 several times in the couple of years. There have been some updates made recently. The desk staff is usually friendly and helpful. I've recommended this motel several times with good results. Next time I'm in Cortez I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank M Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Cortez, Owner at Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We certainly welcome you back on your next trip to Cortez.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortez hotels
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area

Property: Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area
Address: 505 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Cortez/Mesa Verde Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Hotel Cortez
Super 8 Cortez
Super Eight Cortez
Cortez Super 8
Cortez Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing