We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Holiday Inn Mesa Verde over spring break with our 3 young sons. The hotel is very clean and well maintained plus we were able to have a very large room with enclosed kids fort with 2 sets of bunk beds. The King bed was also very comfortable. The bunk beds allowed us to have privacy and avoid renting 2 rooms. The breakfast was great and pool area very nice. Conveniently located close to Mesa Verde and many restaurants. We will definitely go back as we have much of Mesa Verde to still explore!

Room Tip: For families, reserve the bunk bed family suites. Rent early though, as I am sure they book up fast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Jennifer B! You rule!! Next time you are here you should check out the Ute Mountain Tribal Park, it’s like Mesa Verde on steroids and without a seatbelt!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

401 - 407 of 793 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our room was clean, comfortable, and in great condition. The room was a little smaller than usual, but not a problem for us. The breakfast was good and there was lots of room in the dining area. The staff was helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Good morning Ralph P! Thanks for the GREAT review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

The hotel is clean and modern, good service, and great bedding. I slept very well. Anyone looking for a Native/Four Corners experience will love the way this place is decorated, as it's South West to the hilt (but not cheesy).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Robert S! TA says you’re a Senior Contributor but you look, young, healthy and strong!! Thanks for taking the time to give us a thumbs up! I am very cheesy, at least my sense of humor is. We plan some more accents and I am curious what you thought of our Native Artists in the lobby during your stay?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

I was unsure of what to expect of a Holiday Inn Express - I thought it was at the budget end of the chain and would be quite basic. I was pleasantly surprised that it was a really lovely hotel with friendly staff. The experience starts with the lobby which has character consistent with its location near Mesa Verde. The lift was also interesting - with a 'scenic' ride up the three floors. As I was unsure of the standard of the hotel I had booked the best room which turned out to be excellent. Large room with separate sitting area, amazing spa bath and separate shower room. We really enjoyed the spa bath and the relaxing sitting area. The only down side was that on the first night there was someone in the room above who appeared to have insomnia as he/she paced the room for most of the night. It was a little annoying but that is why I always travel with ear plugs! The hotel provided a free drink coupon to the pub across the car park which turned out to be great. All in all a great stay

Room Tip: If you can I strongly recommend the room with spa - I think our suite was 235.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dawnstar050! Thank you for the Awesome review! So happy we were able to meet your expectations. We have some cool things planned for this winter in the rooms and the pool area, should help push us closer to the awesome category! I am sorry there was a noise issue above your room, wish we could fix that permanently, but it would require building new. Great tip is to always request the top floor when making reservations. Also, we try to keep “Active” and “Group” guests on lower floors to help prevent issues but they do arise, and I am sorry we could not prevent it in your case. PS. There is a GREAT Bartender/Server at Koko’s who will custom make you your own drink! Mine is called a Justin (non-alchoholic) and when I am not working I get a “Dirty Justin” (her name) and it has a shot of Kahlua in it, YUM!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very impressed with this hotel, admittedly wife had got carried away and booked a vast spa suite, which we made full use of after a long drive from the west. The hotel itself was good value, clean and well located at the eastern end of town - convenient for Mesa Verde - which was our destination. The staff were friendly and efficient, particularly the ladies in charge of the breakfast bar which they cleared and restocked with mature efficiency. The free hot breakfast was definitely a cut above average for this type of establishment.
We were provided with a free drink voucher for the pub next door, Koko's, which itself turned out to be a bit of a gem - see my separate review.
Overall, really enjoyed our stay here and it will be our first port of call when we return to Cortez.

Room Tip: We felt the spa suites were worth the incremental extra we paid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binliner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Binliner! Dual Citizenship, I am just gonna throw that out there. Thanks for giving the low-down on us! Come back soon and stay longer this time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I was on a vacation, doing a loop of Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado, and I thought Cortez would be a good base to use for several days of the trip. (Mesa Verde National Park, Durango, The San Juan Skyway and Four Corners). This hotel meets all of a traveler's needs, and then some. Easy to find, ample parking, beautiful lobby and common areas, nice pool, very nice rooms and a welcoming staff. I would stay there again. Highly recommended. Several good restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentralVol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

CebtralVol! What a great vacation idea! The San Juan Skyway, the Four Corners National Monument, Southern Colorado, Mesa Verde National Park, are all great places to visit!! We appreciate your recommendation and if you return to us and we do not meet your expectations or you do need help, please let us know, we will jump to make your stay one of the better parts of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Clean and quiet, this HI Express had a little character. Southwestern themed throughout, it was at the right end of town and very convenient to Mesa Verde. Friendly check in, they really pushed the restaurant next door, but we ended up going down to the Safeway to pick up some dinner items, as the room had fridge and microwave.

Only drawback was the size of the bathroom. Vanity outside the bathroom was very small, not large enough for a single person's toiletries, let alone two. But a minor quibble when we were there only overnight.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElmiraOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

ElmiraOregon! Thanks for taking the time!!!HAVE YOU EATEN AT KOKOS YET!!!! STOP BY TODAY FOR SPECIALS!!! CUSTOM DRINKS!!! REASONABLE PRICES!!! Just kidding, lol. The restaurant is being re-branded as Destination Grill and if you thought Koko’s was awesome, wait til the Grill opens!! Thanks for putting up with my sense of humor, and thanks for taking the time to review us!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
1.0 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.0 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,829 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez

Address: 2121 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-4202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range: $88 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wired and Wireless Internet access! Microwave and refreigerators in every room. Free Hot Breakfast Buffett! 100% Non-Smoking! Sorry, No Pets Allowed. Indoor Pool, Dry Sauna & Jacuzzi! Breakfast served 6:30am-9:30am M-F and 6:30am-10:00am Sat & Sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez Hotel Cortez
Holiday Inn Cortez
Cortez Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing