We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Choice in a Nice Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice in a Nice Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by Cortez as it was a convenient stop to see Mesa Verde. Lots of food to choose from and easy shopping to restock up on our trip. The hotel is excellent. Very clean with a super nice staff. The rooms were very nice. The free Breakfast was excellent! Overall an excellent choice for good, clean and an economical stay!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 88FFG93OSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    200
    38
    11
    7
See reviews for
237
225
34
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

A great hotel and a great place for families. We stayed in the kids suite and our kids loved the 2 sets of bunk beds in their "fort". The local decor of the hotel is something more hotels should model after.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank priority_club_trvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This was an above average hotel with a great view of the mountains. The rooms were clean for the most part....except the throw blanket on one of our beds which had food or something encrusted on it. Nice indoor pool and hot tub enclosed on three sides with glass for viewing the scenery. Breakfast was the standard holiday inn stuff but good. They also have a gym and laundromat adjacent to the parking lot and offer a free drink voucher for the restaurant/bar next door. Overall, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boytbab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Cortez was not the highlight of our 3 week road trip. The only reason we stayed in this hotel was
because it was close to Mesa Verde,a place I have always wanted to see, and Durango. When we arrived, we found it to be a very lovely property. When we opened the door to our room, it STUNK of cigarette smoke. They said it was a non-smoking property. The restaurant availability was not so great either. Instead of 3 days, we stayed 2. The breakfast was not too bad.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SedonaSoul1553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Cortez, CO. The facility is very well maintained with the friendliest staff. Melissa at the front desk was especially courteous and we must give kudos to the wonderful breakfast staff as well. Madonna and Leona were very busy keeping buffet clean and stocked all the while making sure the guests had everything they needed. Madonna went out of her way to greet us each day and share a smile. The Inn has a very nice fitness center and laundry facilities and offers bottled water to the guests each afternoon. We spoke with the manager to complement him on his staff. His very pleasant demeanor made it clear that this is a friendly working environment. His very hospitable attitude is reflected in his staff. ....Well done!! We would certainly recommend this Holiday Inn to any who are planning a visit to Mesa Verde or Durango, CO.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was a great stay, with a reasonable price. The amenities are wonderful, the free breakfasts are great, lots of food and variety. The only thing that was average I would say was the cleanliness of the pool. But we were staying at a time when the hotel was packed, and a ton of people had already used the pool and hot tub. The room was clean and they had even turned the cooler down when we got there. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndj12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is the nicest Holiday Inn Express we have ever stayed in! Very friendly and helpful staff (Galen and Dana) during our entire stay. Beautiful décor throughout. Lots of good choices for breakfast. Great location - just a few miles from Mesa Verde National Park. Would definitely stay here again.
Nancy and Dick H.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy and Dick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin V, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Nancy and Dick H! YES!!! Aren’t Galen and Dana nice! I just posted this review at the Front Desk and will acknowledge Galen and Dana in front of the Entire Hotel at our next Hotel-Wide meeting; they will be stoked (sp?)! Breakfast is my favorite meal in Cortez because there are like 20 places you can have it! One of my favorites is a Breakfast Burrito smothered in Green Chili from Bennys Diner. Or anything at Pipo’s, El Grande or the Ute Mountain Coffee Shop! They are all small, local, character-rich little breakfast places that you ONLY find in small towns. If you’re here for a Saturday Morning from now til October, there is a farmers market and a elderly couple who also sell breakfast burritos (are you noticing that I like breakfast burritos?) out of an old blue van; OMG!!! Don’t miss them! Can’t wait to see you two back with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
7.1 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Address: 2121 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-4202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wired and Wireless Internet access! Microwave and refreigerators in every room. Free Hot Breakfast Buffett! 100% Non-Smoking! Sorry, No Pets Allowed. Indoor Pool, Dry Sauna & Jacuzzi! Breakfast served 6:30am-9:30am M-F and 6:30am-10:00am Sat & Sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez Hotel Cortez
Holiday Inn Cortez
Cortez Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing