We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base camp for Mesa Verde”
Review of Days Inn Cortez

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Cortez
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Mass
Level Contributor
498 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 471 helpful votes
“Good base camp for Mesa Verde”
Reviewed May 10, 2009

This hotel is a decent place for a cheap night. It is very close to Mesa Verde and also not far from the 4 corners monument. There seemed to be some unsavory hotel guests who took to swearing at each other in the parking lot, but that can happen anywhere. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful with some different requests we had. The area is pretty quiet, but not far from several restaurants and parks.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dand978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    145
    158
    65
    41
See reviews for
193
182
50
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2008

I only spent 1 night here which is not a bad thing as there isn't much to do in the area. It was a good stop between the Grand canyon and Albuguerque. It was the first opportunity to do some laundry and the facilities were very good. The rooms were very spacious and clean with a good size bathroom. this was a wecome rest in a good hotel.

  • Liked — Room comfort
  • Disliked — In the middle of nowhere
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tk0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, near Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

My wife and I stayed here on our way to Mesa Verde (which is just 9 miles away). It's very average - just a cheap motel.

The room was clean with clean bedding, a fridge (so at least we could cool our beer!) and cable TV. That said, the walls are thin so we had to put up with the snoring from the room next door (my wife says it was much worse than mine!).

There are better options in the area, so look around would be my advice.

  • Liked — Proximity to Mesa Verde
  • Disliked — Style, thin walls, overall lack of quality
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DoctorZippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Loveland, CO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2008

Good motel, stayed here in the past -- this was our second time.

Clean and quiet. nice breakfast, with good selection. Mexican restaurant located next door, nice staff and good food. Pool was nice too. Room had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee pot.

Nice place to stay when planning your adventures in and around Cortez.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaTaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2007

The reason this property offers great value is because of it's breakfast. It is not "continental" by any means. Offerings include cold AND hot cereal, waffles and even hard boiled eggs plus all the other items you would expect. If you subtract the price of a breakfast you would buy elsewhere the price of their rooms is most reasonable.

Other reasons why you might want to stay here is its close proximity to Mesa Verde, which has, perhaps,, the best preserved ruins of ancient cliff dwelling pueblos. Here you have a choice of viewing them from afar or up close and personal.

A little farther away, but less than an hour away is Durango, where you can board the Durango-Silverton Railroad for a most exciting excursion high above a roaring river.

Cortez is a great travel destination and Days Inn is the place to stay.

  • Liked — Amenities
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AlCYonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

Well, if you like a sweltering hotel room, with no air conditioning, and a shower that scalds you, then freezes you out all in a 10 second span, then this is the place for you. It was kind of clean, but very tired and in bad need of remodeling. The only plus I could give it was there were 3 beds in our "suite". Another word of advice.... don't look out the back windows, or you will see broke down, weed covered cars behind the hotel. Never again!!

  • Liked — 3 beds in suite
  • Disliked — no air conditioning and not a properly functioning shower
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RAB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2007

We had to have a motel quickly so we stopped in Cortez, CO at Days Inn. We found this motel to be clean and the staff was helpful and friendly. The price was very reasonable. We left early the next morning so I don't know about the breakfast.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortez hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.5 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
266 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Cortez

Property: Days Inn Cortez
Address: 430 Highway 145, Cortez, CO 81321-4204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Cortez Hotel Cortez
Cortez Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing