We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Dallas, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Older but Adequate”
Reviewed August 21, 2011

This is a very large motel but older. No real problems. Rate was $78.44 which I thought was a bit high. Would have been a better stay if rate was in the mid $60s. They are set up for a continental breakfast but I didn't see one. The lobby is only open from 0730 to 2330.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rickertw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    18
    28
    15
    25
See reviews for
33
32
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed here on night on a road trip – on which we had stayed in a lot of motels within the same price range. The motel isn’t the nicest looking from the outside – but not one to judge by appearances withheld judgement until getting inside. The room was perfectly clean and spacious, if a little dated.
A ok place to stay for a night while visiting Mesa Verde on a budget.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ZoeJVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

as many of the other reviewers mentioned, this hotel is very close to the mesa verde national park and not too far away from four corners and hovenweep national monuments. nevertheless, i would avoid this hotel (and cortez, if at all possible) like the plague... ironic, because when i woke up the next morning i had a horrible, plague-like rash on my face.

i stayed here with friends (two other females) over the busy memorial day weekend. i would not feel comfortable here by myself nor were we terribly comfortable as-is. people were trying to enter our room (drunk in the afternoon?) and due to the layout of the property and the extremely unhelpful staff, we felt pretty isolated until they eventually left on their own.

there is no way i could have ever stayed more than one night at this property. in fact, had cortez been a little less shady at night i just would have slept in the car. the rooms were dark, dingy, stained and there was a musty smell. there also appeared to be evidence that the carpet had not been vacuumed for some time (someone's nail clippings? - disgusting). the mattresses were horribly stained and uncomfortable, plus there were cigarette burns in the linens and the sheets did not appear to be clean. the bathroom was moldy and the towels were so thin you could see through them. as for the facial rash, i suspect it was due to a cache of dust mites in the pillows/pillow cases or mold. it was very painful, red/irritated and took a few days to go away. on a more positive note, i don't believe the room had bed bugs. in any case, if you still are going to stay here, bring flip flops and wear everywhere inside the room, including the shower and pack an extra pillow if you have even remotely sensitive skin.

as for breakfast, like everything else on property, it looked vile (nothing was fresh and they had questionable food handling procedures) so we got food up the road at the supermarket before heading out of town.

additionally, i found this property to be extremely expensive / a horrible value. i would never return again nor recommend to anyone traveling through the area. be warned!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyh12382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cortez hotels

wales
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

WE drove up to this motel and immediately didn't feel comfortable, we were the only car in the car park and the swimming pool was full of rubbish, however, we had already paid for the nights stay so checked in and went to our room.
I immediately opened the window because of the smell and we stayed in the room for about 2 minutes before getting back in our car, driving to the Holiday Inn which is just up the road, and paying $140 to stay there the night.
Do Not Stay At This Motel !

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lvegas63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2011

So my husband and I booked a room here based on some of the reviews and the fact that it is under the B&B/Inn section...oh however when we got there we noticed that the only car in the lot belonged to the manager. There was also a sign on the side that said welcome bikers! The place looked like something out of a B horror movie. My husband went in to cancel our reservation and the woman was very nice about everything. I don't know how the rooms were but just the look on the outside was enough to drive us away. We ended up at the best western turqoise inn.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JewelzRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corinella, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed here for two nights to visit Mesa Verde for the full day. Rooms were quite large and comfortable. There were new air conditioning units, but they had been put under the window, so blew the curtains if you had them closed. Bathroom door didn't close properly and the mirror on the inside of the door had broken at the bottom because of this. Not a big issue but keeping maintenance up would improve things.

There was a small fridge and a microwave in the room and the free internet was welcome. The second night we had someone in the room above us, and found that the noise carried considerably. You could hear them walking around quite easily. There were a number of buildings, but we noticed that it appeared they had some of these blocks closed down. We heard someone ask for a ground floor room and being told none were available, so we assume because it was a quieter time they close areas off.

Breakfast was nothing spectacular but presentable considering it was inclusive of the room price.

Overall it was quite good value as it was half the price of staying at Mesa Verde.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We booked this hotel on hotels.com. When we got there, there were no cars at the hotel. We knew this was a bad sign. The little lobby smelled like cigarette smoke. Since we had booked on hotels.com and had already paid, there was nothing we could do. We checked in, went to the room and were very disappointed. The bathtub had standing water in it, the floor was dirty, the room smelled. We had planned to head out early the next morning to Mesa Verde, so we got up and showered around 5 am. After showering I began looking for a hair dryer and there was not one anywhere. I tried to call the office and got no answer. I had to wait until 7 am for the office to open before I could go get a hairdryer. By this time I was livid. We skipped the breakfast because it was in the little space in the smelly lobby. We were glad to get away and would not recommend this place to anyone. We did not even feel comfortable having our car at this place overnight.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler0105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortez hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
0.2 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
95 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez

Property: American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez
Address: 640 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-3430 (Formerly Anasazi Motor Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelsClick so you can book your American Holiday Mesa Verde Inn Cortez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mesa Verde Inn Cortez Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing