We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Reviewed October 6, 2008

I agree with the other positive comments posted here. It is a pleasant clean motel. The breakfast was as we expected, typical of most BW motels. The breakfast room is inadequate at peak times, but other than that we had no complaints.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohninBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2008

We had a pleasant stay at the Best Western Turquoise Inn. The rooms were clean and updated, comfortable bed, in-room fridge, nice bathrooms (and toiletries), large continental breakfast with make-your-own waffles! A few odd items to note: pools are loaded with chlorine, the windows in the room are really small so not a lot of natural sunlight (but really, if you're going to be out and about this isn't really a big deal), and there were a lot of noisy birds in the courtyard. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay if you're in the Cortez/Mesa Verde area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jenny_the_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2008

I guess I'm not a picky person because this place I thought was nice!!! I just can't figure out people complaining all the time!!! I enjoyed myself at this hotel it was clean the staff was very friendly and I thought the beds were nice and soft and I slept really good! The breakfast was good and they had plenty of food. And yes they do let you have animals there so if you don't like dogs go somewhere else. If I come back I will stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Our experience was great. I see some other negative reviews, but they seem to be based on unique situations - while we stayed here everything went well. It's a motel, so there was a little noise at night - to be expected. We turned the fan on and didn't hear any exterior noise the rest of the night. The pool was warm, and our kids had fun. And the breakfast was very good. I would certainly stay here again, although the price was a little high.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bullwinkle72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

This hotel may be the worst place I have ever stayed in! Although we had booked two non-smoking king rooms, and paid in advance via Priceline, when we arrived all they had were doubles or queens on the second floor, with no elevator. (Our bags were quite large since we were spending three weeks touring the Southwest and we did not want to carry them upstairs for one night.) In addition, the rooms we were shown had been smoked in, although they said non-smoking on the door. The clerk at the front desk did not seen the least surprised when we reported this. We were offered the choice of upgrading to a suite for an additional $30, which we did to avoid the smoking rooms. While moving our stuff into the room, we could hear a barking dog closeby. In fact the dog had been left by its owner in the room and it barked continuously for three hours! We reported this to the staff and she said she would investigate it. Apparently they sent security to open the door to check that ,indeed, there was a barking dog in the room, although it was evident from 200 feet away that there was a barking dog in the room! The clerk later informed me that the owner had returned and would remain in the room for the rest of the evening. This is no way negated our unhappiness at listening to this dog bark for three hours!
Additionally, they had a high school baseball team staying at the hotel and they were outside the rooms well into the evening hours having a great time partying, thereby making sleep nearly impossible in the "suite" wing. The rooms were ok, if not outrageously overpriced. (We stayed at a Ritz Carlton Resort a week later for nearly the same price!) My adivice -- stay ANYWHERE else in Cortez. You couldn't do worse!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SharonCapeCod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

This hotel is easy to find in Cortez and an easy drive to/from Mesa Verde National Park, which was our destination during our three night stay here. Our room was clean and provided basic amenities. It had a sink in the bathroom and a second one outside the bathroom -- and then a third in the "living" area with the mini-fridge -- this was extremely convenient for us.

However, the bed was terribly uncomfortable (extremely soft and "mushy" -- time to replace mattress we assumed) and the air system turns on and off repeatedly, making it difficult to sleep. There was no way to have the air system run continuously to avoid this and it was too warm outside to turn it off completely.

Continental breakfast is basic and what's expected at this price point.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fellowtraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

This is a great hotel. We had a change in plans and contacted the hotel directly. There was only a suite available.The room we stayed at had recently been updated with new carpeting,bedding etc. It was a very nice suite and was reasonable. We would suggest the suite. The room was quiet and the bed's were very comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was also very good and a staff person made sure the area was clean and replenished. We would stay here again without even considering any of the other area hotels/motels.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mctraveler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
193 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites

Address: 535 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range: $68 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Southwestern-style Motor Inn on Highway 160; 5 blocks east of business district; 8 miles from Montezuma City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turquoise Hotel Cortez
Best Western Cortez
Cortez Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing