We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Mesa Verde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband, two boys (age 9 and 11) and myself stayed here in July 2012 as a base while visiting Mesa Verde and 4 corners. The hotel was better than expected. Some Best Westerns that we have stayed at have been dated. This was not the case here. We booked a suite that overlooked the courtyard. The suite had plenty of space and was very clean. The suite actually had two rooms, which is not always the case with a suite. We were on the second floor and it was very quiet. The breakfast was good - both hot and cold choices - and there was plenty of it. Doors are to the exterior, though our exterior was to a courtyard and you had to have a hotel key to get into the courtyard. Overall, a pleasant suprise and a great location for Mesa Verde.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisClarkston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

814 - 820 of 1,107 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

We we not there long. We stayed there before going to Mesa Verde Park. It was a great location for getting to the park. Cortez was an older small town. The hotel was also old but
looked like the best of what was available. All the rooms are right on the main road. The room was comfortable. The breakfast was excellant. They went out of their way to have a
variety.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marystepn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As many reviewers before me have said, this was an excellent choice -- very clean, pleasant decor, gracious and helpful staff, and more reasonably priced than seemingly comparable hotels in the area. It is very close to Mesa Verde, right on the San Juan scenic loop, and a reasonable driving distance to Durango and many Four Corners destinations. Cortez itself was a pleasant town with several good restaurant choices.

Room Tip: My room was an upper-floor suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rgray79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

What a shambles this hotel was, we arrived in Cortez while viseting Mesa Verda in Colorado.We are allways attracted to Best Western Hotels because of the standard of rooms and service is usually reliable.On out arrival mid morning we enquired and were told a room was available so we booked it gave our credit card number and said we would be back late afternoon after our trip to Mesa Verda. Late Aftrenoon we returned to be told Sorry we have double booked you,apparently a guest who was supposed to have booked out decided not to which left us out in the cold.We have booked you in at Motel 8 she said,next door,if we wanted motel 8 I said we would have booked in their ! Very unreliable can't be trusted!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank andyshepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very accommodating. Much better than expected breakfast. Get this; I left items in my closet and noticed 5 days later upon returning home. One phone call and they identified them all and paid the postage to return them to me. I couldn't find a 5-star that would do the same!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Not a bad hotel - it's just a bit old and motel-like mainly on the outside. The rooms aren't furnished that bad - i have to say. but the bathrooms are a tick small. This hotel is probably the #2 choice in town. Also if you are one that likes hotel doors inside - this may not work as doors are to exterior.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seattleaviationfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

After a 500 mile drive, we were tired when we checked in, and found that the wifi would not connect, that the in room fridge was not plugged in, so was not cold, there was litter scattered around the door and walkway. the walkway had been covered with a rock texture surface that made walking difficult with my bad knee. I have a night light I plug in the bathroom if the facilty does not have one, but the plug was on the light circuit, so there was no night light unless you turned the bathroom lights on. I use a CPAP for Sleep Apnea, so a plug hand to the bed is a big consideration. This was a problem here and I ended up having a power cord run clear across the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
193 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites

Address: 535 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range: $68 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Southwestern-style Motor Inn on Highway 160; 5 blocks east of business district; 8 miles from Montezuma City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turquoise Hotel Cortez
Best Western Cortez
Cortez Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing