We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Mesa Verde”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed here one night after driving the spectacular San Juan Skyway on our way to Mesa Verde. Hotel is fine, pretty average by Best Western standards. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QuixoticCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

890 - 896 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stopped over for one night in Cortez, CO on our vacation and found the Turquoise Inn to be a good deal. A full breakfast was included in the price and we found it to be very good. The rooms are about average size, (ours had a king bed) but clean and comfortable. Our room looked out over the parking lot and outdoor swimming pool (which was very busy), but we found that even with the hotel being full that night, it was reasonably quiet. The bathrooms are small but Bath & Body Works toiletry items are supplied -- which I happen to like! Lodging around Cortez is limited so I would definitely recommend the Turquoise Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desertwriter60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This hotel has suites that are great for family vacations (2 double beds in 1 room w/ door + double bed sleeper couch in living room). All rooms are nonsmoking except for 4 rooms near the lobby. However, when I told the front desk that a man was smoking outside our room, I learned that the hotel forbids people from smoking only in the non-smoking rooms but people are free to smoke in the halls, the courtyard & other areas of the hotel. I was shocked. Smoke easily seeps into rooms from the hallways. Also, we wanted to eat breakfast in the shaded outdoor courtyard but decided not to since we figured a smoker would light up as soon as we sat down. If you don't like inhaling second hand smoke, you might want to stay elsewhere. I hope the hotel changes this policy because smoke in the common areas detracted from an otherwise pleasant experience. This hotel (except for the smoke) is one of the nicest places to stay when visiting Mesa Verde (a "must do" in the Four Corners area).

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you mind people smoking in the hall outside your non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naturelover201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

It is our choice each year when we go to Cortez. We had stayed in other Hotels before we stayed here. The staff is great and rooms are clean. Our 5 stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moparmesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Ideally located in the Main street of Cortez we found this B/W to be in our top two of all the hotels/motels we stayed in over 9 States of the US of A over the month of January. A great base to visit Mesa Verde, ski Purgatory outside Durango and relax with a few at the Main St Brewery ! The Suite was great value at under $US120 with hot breakfast for 4 !The staff were overly friendly and helpful and when we mentioned AAA affiliation (NRMA, RACV etc for aussies) the rate was reduced ! Talk about great value for your buck ! Well worth the diversion if you are in the location or on your way to Vegas , Grand Canyon etc.

Room Tip: If travelling with teenagers ask for the suite , worth the peace and quite !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skeney57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

The staff was friendly. The rooms were large, newly remodeled and clean. The pool was pristine. Really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthCalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

This place was AMAZING. I wasn't so sure from the looks of the outside when we first got there, but the room was huge and beautiful and exceeded our expectations 100%! I was extremely bummed we got there late and then had to leave again early. The bed was one of the best I've ever slept in. Room was extremely clean and had quality toiletries. All the staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was very good, but my only complaint was that it didn't start until 6:30 when we were leaving at 6:45 for a tour at Mesa Verde National Park. I thought that was strange when that's where most of their guests will probably be going.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wlf07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
1.0 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,840 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
192 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mesa Verde-Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites

Address: 535 E Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3319
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Southwestern-style Motor Inn on Highway 160; 5 blocks east of business district; 8 miles from Montezuma City Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Turquoise Hotel Cortez
Best Western Cortez
Cortez Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing