We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK service, great food”

Once Upon a Sandwich
Ranked #26 of 67 Restaurants in Cortez
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK service, great food”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Walked in for lunch and it was pretty busy. Seated ourselves eventually ... we didn't realize we weren't supposed to wait. Got a table and waited a while for someone to take our order ... when it happened, no "hey", "how are ya?", just stood and looked at us with pen in hand. Everyone loved their food however. I had the spicy panini with turkey, pastrami, green chilies, and pepperjack. Just need to put on a happy face for the tourists ... everything else was great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pmknhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    21
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Seriously??”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I cannot believe I ate in the same place as the other reviewers! The food was pretty lousy, I had a Navajo Taco that was bland and cold and wet, my husband had sloppy joes that had a ton of sugar and seemed to have more large chunks of celery than beef. The owner prebussed our table, and was very rude and then answered her cell phone while I was talking to her (if she doesn't care how our food was...DON'T ASK) Heres another Idea...NO CELL PHONES AT WORK! The decor looked like grandmas attic..big piles of National Geographics everywhere and way too much wood, the 80s came here to die.
This place needs Chef Robert Irvine's help ASAP....

Bad food, no two bite checkback, owner interrupts speaking guest to answer cell phone...this place is a dud.

Skip this one, the rude owner doesn't deserve the business.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mikethebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missoula
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

We walked in to great classical music! Seat your self......there's no sign. Service started out a little slow but by the end of the meal we were hooked. The wraps and sandwiches are a meal for two, very tasty. The owner wrapped our leftovers, packed them in ice for our trip and gave us advice on what to see in the area. A great experience.

Helpful?
Thank gw7801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great family lunch”
Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

We just happened to stop here for lunch on our way through Cortez... What a great find! One of the best lunches we've had in the states so far (been here nearly 3 months!). It was a particularly good place for the kids as they brought out age appropriate jigsaws and there was a great "pre-school finger food" option for our two year old which was balanced, healthy, filling and she loved it! If you are driving through or in the area then it's worth planning this as your lunch stop.

Helpful?
Thank MumaDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Busy and fun little restaurant”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I've been going here since the 1980s. Consistent food and relatively fast service. The fact that it is always packed should tell you something. I love the Southwest Chicken Salad and the Gouda Wrap!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank CortezReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Once Upon a Sandwich also viewed

 

Been to Once Upon a Sandwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing