We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Restaurant”
Review of El Burro Pancho

El Burro Pancho
Ranked #8 of 67 Restaurants in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
San Diego
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Restaurant”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Ate here on our recent trip through Cortez. The staff was extremely nice and friendly. The food was pretty good. Only one caution......... The beans are a bit spicy. Other than that, it was a great place to eat

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    56
    18
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Barbacoa ever!”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Definitely one of the best Mexican food meals I have ever had. Being from Phoenix and growing up in a multicultural family, I have had more than my share of really good Mexican food. Even in a southwestern city like Phoenix, finding an affordable Mexican food restaurant that serves tasty food is oddly hard to find. El Burro Pancho produces some of the best Mexican food I have ever tasted. If you are a Barbacoa fan, it's worth the 7- hour drive from Phoenix. It's simply that good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seanmwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A cut above the usual Mexican cuisine”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Passing through at lunch time and Evangelina's (I think that was the name) is no longer around. TA suggests EBP. Excellent green chile with potatoes added to a fine basic chili verde. Owner on site and very involved. Hope its still here the next time I come through.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank phototype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Ridiculously Good Mexican Food!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Cortez in order to see Mesa Verde National Park, and found El Burro Pancho via Tripadvisor. I ordered one of the house specials, pollo crema, which came with poblano peppers, onions, chicken with an amazing creamy sauce, served with delicious rice and beans and tortillas. Unbelievable. My boyfriend had the flautas, which he promptly devoured. We both had the house margarita (the "mucho" size), and our bill was quite reasonable and oh-so-worth-it at $36. There was one server who was friendly and helpful, making sure to check on us, and our food was brought out quickly. The restaurant itself has a pleasant atmosphere, with nice colors and lighting. Not super fancy, but really cute! One of the nicest things to witness was the owner, who upon noticing the restaurant was getting busier, came out to help serve and clean tables. He came over to us as well and asked us how we liked our food, what brought us there, and was just delightful. My one regret was not being able to eat there again the next night as we were on a time crunch for our road trip. In fact, this food dominated our conversation for the next day and has made every meal since a disappointment. I hope this place is here for a long, long time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natasha Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Mexican!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Gustavo offers food that his chef's mother from Puebla Mexico has made for years and the authenticity is genuine. He also makes a great sangria wine and margarita, and has a good choice of Mexican and domestic beer.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank BBVette66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Burro Pancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing