We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entire complex needs an upgrade”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
National 9 Inn Sand Canyon
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We were very disappointed in the room! Maintenence has obviously been very neglected or not done there for years. The carpet is very dirty looking and worn out. The bathroom floor looked like it was falling in around the toilet. The curtains on the window could not be closed all the way. The walls are filthy. I have to be honest,I think the housekeeping was very good considering what that poor staff has to work with. The tub etc looked clean.
After leaving the room for a few hours to sightsee we went back to the motel and checked out that same evening-did even spend the night. We stayed at another hotel in town.
The man at the desk was so friendly I did have the heart to tell him all this so we just left.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank M J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 105 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here in June. We were travelling with 2 teenage girls so had two rooms. I felt uneasy about them being on their own as the door to our rooms didn't close properly. The plug for the air conditioning unit was hanging out of the wall and looked very dangerous. The bed was comfortable but the sheets were ready to be thrown out. The genrous breakfast thye talk about was some tiny muffins and some sort of pastry item. There was no juice or yoghurt or cereal. We felt that the whole complex was ready to be pull down and started again, I wouldn't stay here again. The Italian restuarant next door was very nice though!.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliKatChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This little, rather old motel, is run by a lovely lady who is very nice and quite helpful. I would have given an even lower score if not for her. So, for the "okay" stuff: It was cheaper than anything else in Cortez, that I found, ($45 & $55 based on one bed or two, plus tax = $60 for us), it was very quiet, the beds, though firm, were to our liking, she loaned me a small coffee maker, the towels were pretty fluffy, and the AC ran on a remote which was great (even though the button area directly on the unit was rather damaged) and my car was RIGHT outside the door/window. We took a 2 bed room because the single king bed room was simply awful and the one we took was better. Look at your room first! The absolute worst features were the carpets in both rooms. I spilled some water and wiped it up with the bathmat, which came away absolutely FILTHY! The cheaper rooms rug looked even worse. The other thing that they need to address is the lack of outlets. I needed to unplug the MW in order to do anything else! Also, the MW and the mini-fridge were plugged in next to the sink where water gets everywhere! Another inexpensive motel we go to added one of those 6 outlet strips to each room. People do have cell phones and laptops to charge now, as well as hair dryers, curling irons and hearing aids! The single bed room also had no lighting to speak of and I need a light to read by while sitting in a chair not on a bed! There seems to be a number of working sguys who live in this motel, and it is probably a great deal for them, but I would hesitate to bring your family here. The carpets REALLY need more frequent cleaning! Maybe the rooms do get rented to guys who work in very dirty environments and she can't keep up with the black dirt in the rugs, but she needs to try! We saw no bugs though, and we actually slept well. The bathroom was devoid of any attempts at decor, and there was some mildly gringy looking caulk, but the tub was clean and the shower hot enough. I really liked this owner, but I just don't know if we'll stay there again. She does provide coffee and some packaged rolls/muffins in the lobby from 7 to 9 AM.

Room Tip: #5 was the one that had poor lighting and a terribly dirty carpet, #16 was where we stayed and it IS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank azslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Great place to sleep but get out when you wake-up
Top location if you visit the national park

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plGouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

the national 9 motel in cortez, southern colorado is one of the cheapest motels in town. it has a couple of more spacious rooms with 2 queen beds and a sofa. internet, no breakfast. it was better than what i have expected.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
Thank skateboard88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is a very bare bones hotel. Bed, bathroom, TV and fridge that all work. You get what you pay for with this place. Rooms were clean and in good repair. All furnishings were well used, but functional. No bugs and very quite. Staff was friendly and wanted our buisness unlike some of the other places in town that we called.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Excellent Location and amenities for the price. Not near liquor shop or grocery store where theft and noise is rampant. Very near to excellent restaurant....best italian restaurant right next to the motel. Microwave, Refrigerator, wifi, continental breakfast in office... cant ask for more

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortez hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.8 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
192 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#8 of 16 in Cortez
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National 9 Inn Sand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Address: 301 W Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3132
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range: $38 - $62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Inn Sand Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your National 9 Inn Sand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Sand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing