We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Photos are deceiving”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
National 9 Inn Sand Canyon
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Photos are deceiving”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here in June. We were travelling with 2 teenage girls so had two rooms. I felt uneasy about them being on their own as the door to our rooms didn't close properly. The plug for the air conditioning unit was hanging out of the wall and looked very dangerous. The bed was comfortable but the sheets were ready to be thrown out. The genrous breakfast thye talk about was some tiny muffins and some sort of pastry item. There was no juice or yoghurt or cereal. We felt that the whole complex was ready to be pull down and started again, I wouldn't stay here again. The Italian restuarant next door was very nice though!.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliKatChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    10
    19
    19
    42
See reviews for
21
35
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This little, rather old motel, is run by a lovely lady who is very nice and quite helpful. I would have given an even lower score if not for her. So, for the "okay" stuff: It was cheaper than anything else in Cortez, that I found, ($45 & $55 based on one bed or two, plus tax = $60 for us), it was very quiet, the beds, though firm, were to our liking, she loaned me a small coffee maker, the towels were pretty fluffy, and the AC ran on a remote which was great (even though the button area directly on the unit was rather damaged) and my car was RIGHT outside the door/window. We took a 2 bed room because the single king bed room was simply awful and the one we took was better. Look at your room first! The absolute worst features were the carpets in both rooms. I spilled some water and wiped it up with the bathmat, which came away absolutely FILTHY! The cheaper rooms rug looked even worse. The other thing that they need to address is the lack of outlets. I needed to unplug the MW in order to do anything else! Also, the MW and the mini-fridge were plugged in next to the sink where water gets everywhere! Another inexpensive motel we go to added one of those 6 outlet strips to each room. People do have cell phones and laptops to charge now, as well as hair dryers, curling irons and hearing aids! The single bed room also had no lighting to speak of and I need a light to read by while sitting in a chair not on a bed! There seems to be a number of working sguys who live in this motel, and it is probably a great deal for them, but I would hesitate to bring your family here. The carpets REALLY need more frequent cleaning! Maybe the rooms do get rented to guys who work in very dirty environments and she can't keep up with the black dirt in the rugs, but she needs to try! We saw no bugs though, and we actually slept well. The bathroom was devoid of any attempts at decor, and there was some mildly gringy looking caulk, but the tub was clean and the shower hot enough. I really liked this owner, but I just don't know if we'll stay there again. She does provide coffee and some packaged rolls/muffins in the lobby from 7 to 9 AM.

Room Tip: #5 was the one that had poor lighting and a terribly dirty carpet, #16 was where we stayed and it IS...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azslc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012 via mobile

Great place to sleep but get out when you wake-up
Top location if you visit the national park

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plGouda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cortez hotels

germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

the national 9 motel in cortez, southern colorado is one of the cheapest motels in town. it has a couple of more spacious rooms with 2 queen beds and a sofa. internet, no breakfast. it was better than what i have expected.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank skateboard88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

This is a very bare bones hotel. Bed, bathroom, TV and fridge that all work. You get what you pay for with this place. Rooms were clean and in good repair. All furnishings were well used, but functional. No bugs and very quite. Staff was friendly and wanted our buisness unlike some of the other places in town that we called.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aneth, ut
2 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Excellent Location and amenities for the price. Not near liquor shop or grocery store where theft and noise is rampant. Very near to excellent restaurant....best italian restaurant right next to the motel. Microwave, Refrigerator, wifi, continental breakfast in office... cant ask for more

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I have NEVER stayed at such a terrible place! Not only did the rooms stink, but the front desk person/manager LIED to us!! He told us breakfast was included and was at 0700. We rang the bell at the front lobby and woke him up. He was angry with us and told us the time was actually 0600! We didn't miss much - looked as if it was toast and coffee. I also had a large bug bite on my toe when I woke up. YUCK! Hotel is on NOISY highway. Traffic all night. I never slept.

Room Tip: I would doubt that a "good" room exists!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ckaep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortez hotels
0.7 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
0.8 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to National 9 Inn Sand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about National 9 Inn Sand Canyon

Property: National 9 Inn Sand Canyon
Address: 301 W Main St, Cortez, CO 81321-3132
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — National 9 Inn Sand Canyon 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your National 9 Inn Sand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
National 9 Hotel Sand Canyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing