We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (366)
Filter reviews
366 results
Traveler rating
37
66
114
74
75
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
66
114
74
75
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
320 - 325 of 366 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were driving an just could drive any further. When we hit Cortez, we just needed a bed to sleep in and a shower. That is exactly what we got.

This place has seen better days. But, if you're on a budget and you want to go to Mesa Verde it may be the place for you. Most everything is worn, but the rooms are clean and the staff is courteous.

The things that bothered me most was the flat sheet used for the fitted sheet so that they come off while you sleep.and the sheets were thread bare. The pillows could use to be replaced as well. They reminded me of the ones I kept shoved in the closet if you had an excessive of over night guests.

As for the pool..... well storage area would be more like it. It looks very nice, it just needs water.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thegolfingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

The hotel does not have wireless. The town has Macdonald with an excellent connection. Otherwise you could stay at the Orange Spruce Hotel next door. They got WiFi, but with a password.

The reason for staying here was to look at the Anasazi ruins at Mesa Verde. Mesa Verde was more impressive than Rodeway.

Our sleep was excellent. A a fridge is not standard, but there is an CRT TV (not flatscreen) and the picture was not good.

The hotel was sparsely booked, and I understand why. We are going on to Comfort Suites & Inn in Durango. We could easily have covered both Mesa Verde and the Silverton railroad from there. And they will have WiFi!

If you like coffee, there is only one bag to brew and the breakfast will feed you but not much more. The receptionist also takes care of filling up items and coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phagerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We were hesitant to stay here after reading some of the reviews but rooms were scarce in Cortez that night and after talking to the owner and seeing the room we decided to go for it. The rate was reasonable (approx $60 first night with AAA - $55 second night) and the owner and staff were VERY helpful and accomodating. The room we stayed in had some minor issues (a loose knob on the bathroom, a missing drain stopper, cosmetic things only) but it was very clean and had an awesome shower. There was no smell of smoke (there were no adjacent smoking rooms) and there was no indication of mold or dirt (these were things previous reviews complained of). The owner told me that they had purchased the place in fall, 2011 and were working on getting the whole place into better shape - room by room. She felt that it would be another year before the job was finished to her satisfation. She seems very competant and very conscientious, I have every expectation that she will meet her goal. The room came with a continental breakfast that was standard fare and perfectly fine. The hotel pool is still closed but they had discounted passes at the desk ($3.50 I think) for the Cortez recreation center located around the corner that has an awesome pool with lazy river and slides etc for the kids not to mention all the workout equipment of a rec center. The hotel's location is close to city park and within walking distance of several places to eat. We found it extremely convenient and were sad to check out after 2 nights. Our next hotel on the trip was not nearly as good as this one! Our kids rated it "the best hotel EVER" although admittedly - it is the first one they stayed in since they were babies..

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker try to get a room with no smoking ones next to it.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eclipse_chasers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Clean property at reasonable prices. We enjoyed our stay. The staff and management were very friendly and hospitable. The pool is closed but the price is right!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

good hotel at a low price. Very fair treatment of people. Very respectable young lady at the reception. Thank you

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews