We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Saint Gabriel, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Assuming that all you want is a place to sleep comfortably, this is a good bargain -- very inexpensive, nice owner who makes breakfast, wagon for kids to play on, hummingbird feeders. Clean, good beds, refrigerator. Ice machine and WiFi not working when we were there. Family-owned, so you're not contributed to corporate wealth.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Van R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    5
    7
    10
See reviews for
25
20
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

The staff was really friendly. They serve a breakfast and it was absolutely delicious. I have never stayed at a motel that had me feeling so good in the morning. Worth checking out if you are traveling through Cortez.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dakota L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

This place reminded me of when I was a kid and we chose places because they were ran by independent owners and their families. It was like stepping back in time, with smiles all around and a happy dog greeting us at the door (we knew we were at the right place when this happened). Sonja and her family are the new owners and are redoing the rooms one at a time, little by little. I am giving it 4 stars because it was quiet, family owned, CLEAN (OMG SUPER CLEAN), and we felt very welcomed.
DO NOT go here expecting the Ritz on a dime store budget. What you will get at this place is super friendly service from people who are making it happen all by themselves. I asked for quiet and clean and that is what I received. No frills (not yet)... just a sweet place to lay your head. PLUS Sonja made fresh beignets and strawberry crepes for breakfast... drawing on her New Orleans roots.
The kiddo and our dog were welcomed with open arms and the environment was safe and peaceful. THANK YOU SONJA for sharing your dream with us!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyajunemoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

My husband and I and kids are up here on a job. We were treated like family from the time we checked in. Clean rooms, hot showers , and great water pressure. Breakfast is home made and good . Would recommend this place to anyone .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jess781112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, ON, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This place is currently being turned around by a new owner. The price was great given the local comparisons. The rooms were average for a motel, they could use some updating, but they were clean. Only complaint was the strong chemical smell in the room when we first got in, just needed some airing out. The owner really made the place special. Breakfast was homemade and very tasty. I really wish them every success in their plans for this place, as it just needs some updating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamasWise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcanoes, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

Booked a two rooms on Priceline for $70, based on a 3 star rating and lots of good reviews on Trip Advisor. Saw a sign coming into town for $39/night. Drove into the parking lot, had a bad feeling. Thinking we might have found a diamond in the rough, asked to see our rooms. Owner was not happy with us when we asked how she got a 3 star rating. Rooms were in very bad shape, decades of smoking, hard use. No way the wives were going to go for it. Left under a hail of "choice" words from the owner. If you can get it for $39, you won't find a cheaper place in Cortez, but you will get what you pay for, almost.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cortez hotels

Antioch, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

I agree with fellow reviewers in that you can't beat the price and this place currently is not for everyone. It is going to take some time and diligence to turn this into a consistent 5 star review. Yes, the essentials are there but it's still hit and miss on even those. Definitely ask to see the room first. We went through 3. It's not that we are overly picky but the first room had part of the curtain rod missing so you could not close the curtains all the way. Room 2 had an extremely thread bare carpet which was coming up and again curtain issues. That seems to a prevalent theme in the rooms as room #3 didn't have all the curtain hooks attached to the rod either but was the best of what we saw. It's the little things. A box of tissue would be a nice touch as would vacuuming behind the the nightstand. We needed to pull it away from the wall to plug in my husband's cpap machine and there must have been an inch of dust and dirt behind it. Finding that makes you wonder about everything else. Also bring flip flops or slippers, it is not a place I would walk about barefoot on the carpet. Not only are rocks tracked in with your shoes, but the carpet is showing its age and it's cleanliness is suspect.

The beds are new, so fairly comfortable. The pillows not so new, so again it or miss. One rock hard foam and one soft one. More than two per bed would be nice as they are smallish pillows and barely fit the bed. There were no blankets on the bed. Only sheets and the bed spread. Since we never know if the bedspreads are washed for each new guest, we always remove and fold them and store in a closet or out of way space. A blanket and a triple sheeted bed would be a plus. Yes it was summer but you can still get cold with the A/C.

Each room is large with two queen beds, a mini refrigerator and microwave. The furniture and decor is dated. Each room has a flat screen TV but they aren't installed at eye level while sitting up in bed. It's too high up on the wall and the cords are messily tacked, not even together, across the wall to a surge protector. Again, it's the little attention to details. A longer corded surge protector would have made all the difference.

There was plenty of hot water but we only had maid service on our first day. On day two, as were were leaving the maid yelled at us asking if we needed our trash emptied or any fresh towels. We came back after a long day of exploring to find that was the extent of our maid service for the day. Our room was not freshened up. The morning beignets, crepes, fruit and coffee is a great touch. I just wish everything was more hit than miss. I probably would not stay here again. A little too rough around the edges.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room first. Room in the two story building will have less road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Audrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortez hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel

Property: Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel
Address: 531 South Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean, quiet, spacious comfortable rooms. Located walking distance to downtown Cortez and restaurants. Free wifi and unlimited long distance phone calls within U.S.A. Queen size beds, AC/heat, Mini- Refrigerators, Microwave Ovens, Pets Welcome. Enjoy the Old West and our shady Picnic areas. Cortez is the hub of the Four Corners Region and point of interest on the Grand Circle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sleeping Ute Mountain Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing