We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Open early”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mr. Happy's Bakery and Cafe - CLOSED

Mr. Happy's Bakery and Cafe
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Open early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our breakfast options were limited, because it was early on a weekday. I remembered the ad from the hotel booklet that boasted homemade baked goods and real ingredients.

We were the only patrons, at the time. The server (owner?) seemed busy and was very abrupt, but not rude. The room seemed a bit odd, to me. Half of it bright yellow bakery, the other half a darker bar and grill, separated by a partial wall. We sat in the bright yellow room.

We just needed a basic breakfast. Eggs, bacon, hash browns, toast. The eggs were well-cooked. The bacon was nice and crispy, and the hash browns had a good crunchy edge. The homemade wheat toast was lovely! it was so nice, in fact, that, rather than grabbing a sandwich at the grocery store to eat on the road, later, we asked if they could make a sandwich for us. It made for a great picnic in Monument Valley!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newt949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    19
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Live Music”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The first thing you notice is the run down look of the place. You soon forget that. Above average mix of American fair with a nice selection of brews on tap. Friendly service. We were fortunate enough to see Jack Ten High there. A great bluegrass band that I would love to see again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Service is the worst!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

The food was good but the service was terrible..waitress was completely disintetested in customers and set a very hot plate out of mt reach instead of serving in front of me...should have stayed in the other building service was better and it was much cleaner...use to come all the time will not be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank desertangel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BEDFORD
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“A happy experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Good food and service! Don't forget not to leave without a Mr Happy's T-shirt, hoodie, hat or mug! We bought all!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Banupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delicious baked goods and good beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

This is an odd combination of a place, bakery food and beer. Baked goods were amazing! Beer good, good prices. Didn't try the food but it looked good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwbtg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Happy's Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing