We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Georgetown, Ohio
1 review
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

As a child from a large family, we never traveled, so it was fun for me to stay at a family-operated hotel much like one would have found 50 or 60 years ago. It was immaculately clean with parking directly in front of the room and with a very friendly, helpful staff. If you want modern anonymity, this is not for you, but if you want retro comfort, it's great! When I go back to Mesa Verde, this is where I'll stay!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byways04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    180
    46
    11
    9
See reviews for
103
183
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

For one night it was OK. The type of motel from american movies. It is clean. You can park a car in front of your room, as in most motels. There was nothing special about it, really - just a place to sleep and to hit the road in the morning. No breakfast, nothing really to do around, it is located in the end of the city. No attractions around. But, you have refrigerator and you can order pizza if you must.

Room Tip: No tips, all rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MagdaCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware,Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Stayed here for a week while visiting family. Owner are wonderful Christian people. Motel is immaculate and owner uses eco friendly products. Very quite. Loved the queen room. Wi fi not so good. Very helpful staff close to 4 corners area. Beautiful views of Mesa Verde and Sleeping Ute. Highly recommend will stay there again. Great value for your money!

Room Tip: A distance from town so you have to drive to restaurants. Microwave and refrigerator provided for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toni E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night with family of 4. Immediately liked the place once we got to our room (2 double beds, desk w/ chair, 2 armchairs & table, small fridge, TV, coffee machine). Nice cut square room, approx. 13x13 feet. Furniture old-fashioned but in real good condition. No blows&whistles, only thing we missed was a hair drier and that they still had the pool in operation (pool is decommissioned).
All very clean, good price (80$), and very good value compared to other places, which offer more amenities but suck in quality and cleanliness.
Friendly & helpful staff, told us right away the key things about Mesa Verde and the Colorado Welcome Center, where you should go to get all information about the Mesa Verde NP. Information from owner was admittedly not fully correct but as she gave us the brochures and send us to the Welcome Center, so OK for us.
Definitely a recommendation. Would stay there again when in this area.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DerKuchenbaecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed 2 nights. Our room was super clean. We were a bit worried about noise level but there was no road noise and our room was pretty quiet. the hotel is at one end of the main road into Cortez so be prepared to drive to most of the restaurants for dinner, etc. Plenty of pillows for our king size bed. There was a small frig and microwave in the room. The front desk staff was super helpful and friendly. Gave us an alternate route for our drive home with great sights! We would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerSamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We got in to Cortez at 10:15 after a long day at Mesa Verde. We couldn't call to confirm our late arrival as there was no cell service in the park and were worried that we might not have a room. When we arrived our room was ready and available, much to our relief. The room was a double queen as promised and was quaint and very clean - we had our best night sleep of the trip there. I would highly recommend.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank MRGMSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion,Mi
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were just passing thru and only stayed 1 night. It is an older mom & pop style motel with parking by your room. It was old and dated but Clean-Clean-Clean. The only issue for us was the air/heater was loud and noisy. The Owners are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I think all are about the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank ZigZagMarion_Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
3.0 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge

Property: The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Address: 2110 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Eagle Inn is a small property with a variety of 16 regular rooms, Kings, Queens, Double Queens and Doubles, and a few rooms with three beds. We also feature a larger vacation rental with three bedrooms, 2 bath, laundry, kitchen, deck (with great view). Our focus is to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable, and friendly accommodation. We are too small to provide 24 hour desk service, and request our guests to check in by 9pm or call on the day of arrival for late-check-in arrangements. Thanks to all for the great reviews and friendly suggestions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing