We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brief Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Our family were travelling from the Grand Canyon to Skiing at Wolf Creek CO. Cortez was perfectly positioned to break our journey. Both Cortez and the White Eagle provided all we required. A friendly welcome, warm, comfortable and clean rooms at the White Eagle and various quick and easy dining options within Cortez itself. Recommend both.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2themacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

291 - 297 of 425 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Ok, I have to admit I was a bit leary to book a room at a local family run hotel that I knew nothing about. We were traveling through Cortez and just needed a place to stay for a jumping off point for Mesa Verde and this place was priced right. The hotel is family run and owned. We were greeted warmly and were given recommendations for where to grab dinner. The room was decent sized, lined with light wooden paneling but otherwise fairly updated. New carpet and bedspread. Incredibly clean bathroom and room. Mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave in the room. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. The hotel is on main drag on south end of town.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KWT-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Last spring, my son and I took a no-itinerary roadtrip all through the Four Corners states. We hadn't intended to be in the same town for more than one night, but we ended up at the White Eagle three nights in a row because we were so very pleased with this motel, and Cortez ended up being a great "launchpad" for multiple days of adventure (Durango, Mesa Verde and Four Corners areas). It was safe, convenient, VERY clean and warm, and the owners are terrific, friendly, and accommodating--we felt like we were staying with family! We were in the same room all three nights and it was very spacious, comfortable, and well-furnished. We were glad to have the in-room fridge and even used the "community" microwave and the mini golf course out front. The wifi was another unexpected but great perk that we took advantage of. It was a terrific value for a terrific place, and the next time we find ourselves within 100 miles of Cortez, I wouldn't hesitate to go out of my way to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vnitsirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for two nights as we explored Mesa Verde NP & Hovenweep NM. Great location to both sites. Not necessarily in the main downtown area of Cortez, but no more than 3 miles to all the restaurants & shops. Very reasonably priced, though no breakfast is included. Wifi signal is a little weak in the last rooms, but we switched to a room closer to the main office & it was superb. Staff was friendly & informative. We will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thereeds_2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We made reservations here and it was our base for a side trip to Mesa Verde - just down the road and on the other side of town. Well it couldn't have been better. The folks at the front desk were cordial and helpful in a Mom and Pop way, the room was spotless and quiet, and I could bird watch out back in late afternoon. The place is not architecturally spectacular - it's old-time basic motel, but is a great choice at a great price. You can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fishscales44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

stayed november 10th, 2012. This place is one of the cleanest hotel room i have ever stayed in. It only cost $41 for a night and I feel it is well worth the price. The lady at the desk was extremely friendly and helpful. Don't waste your money by staying at a commercialized hotel when this place when this place is here. If i ever need to stay in Cortez again, I will stay at White Eagle.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRayhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

There's nothing more i could ask for from this motel...it's by far the best motel i have ever stayed in, especially being so close to several great historical attractions. The front desk is exceptionally friendly and she even help planned my trip for me, since this is my first time to the Four coners and I was there by myself. Absolutely good value for money.. Will be back soon...

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cakewalk2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortez hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.9 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
193 reviews
2.2 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge

Address: 2110 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range: $52 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Eagle Inn is a small property with a variety of 16 regular rooms, Kings, Queens, Double Queens and Doubles, and a few rooms with three beds. We also feature a large vacation rental with three bedrooms, 2 baths, laundry, kitchen, deck (with great view)- Sleeps 7-10. Our focus is to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable, and friendly accommodation. We do not provide 24 hour desk service, and request our guests to check in by 9pm or call on the day of arrival for late-check-in arrangements. We are pet friendly on a case by case basis. Out pet fee is $15/night. Please contact us prior to booking with a pet. Thanks to all for the great reviews and friendly suggestions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing