We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place--book directly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good place--book directly!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The White Eagle Inn is everything other reviewers have said...clean, comfortable, well-run, friendly, but not at all fancy! It is a little outside of town so expect to drive to dinner, etc. If you're going, book directly with the hotel; I paid $92 for a $69 room by booking through a travel site (h**tels.com). The pool was empty and looked like it has been so for a while.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mac4math
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    181
    47
    12
    9
See reviews for
106
188
29
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, Ohio
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We just stayed in the lodge for 3 days, and loved it. The lodge is behind the motel, very private, very clean, and has great views of the mountains. I've stayed in lots of condos all over the country, and this is one of my favorites.

We had a family of 4, and there was lots of space for us. You could easily have 7 ppl in the 3 bedroom, 2 bath lodge. It even includes a pool table! The kitchen included everything we needed, even a junk drawer, just like home. And a washer and dryer.

The owners were very nice and helpful, even loaning us movies for the kids. They recommended a family restaurant down the road that was great.

The location is perfect for exploring the 4 corners area. We went to Mesa verde, hovenweep, and the Anasazi museum. The grocery is right down the road. Durango is only an hour away.

I wish we could have stayed longer. If I ever come back to the area, this is where I'll stay.

And really, the added bonus here is the hospitality that comes with a family-run operation. Really pleasant people.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumelle, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Judging from some of the negative reviews given to the White Eagle Inn, it seems that some were expecting five-star lodging when they saw all of the "excellent" ratings. Please understand, this motel is far from luxurious!

This is a family operation, not a big chain. The rooms are tiny. The decor is dated. The doors open with keys instead of keycards. When we arrived, the room was hot and the air conditioner was not on. However, by the time we returned from dinner (at a restaurant recommended by the owner) the room was quite comfortable.

The White Eagle Inn is NOT a modern motel. It IS affordable, clean, and comfortable. The shower was hot and the water pressure was good. The hosts were very pleasant and quite accomodating.

If you are looking for an inexpensive, clean, comfortable room in Cortez, the White Eagle Inn has it! If you are looking to be pampered, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I had made reservations based on TA reviews - and agree that this is a great family run establishment. We were running late on the day we were scheduled to arrive - and I was worried that the office would not be open - so I called and they told me which room we would be in - said they would unlock the door and leave the key on the bed. The room was basic - but had "amenities" that you don't find in many chain places - for example, they had a power strip mounted to provide extra electrical outlets. Extremely clean and pleasant facility.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dancing_Lady53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
529 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Based on TA we made reservations. Room was clean & staff/owners were helpful with advice regarding attractions. Location is good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acielesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had checked Trip Advisor for a hotel in Cortez and were impresssed with the good reviews for White Eagle Inn especially since I was traveling with my two grown daughters and they had family rooms with three beds. Great day in the morning what a treat for each of us to have our own bed. Well the good reviews were right. We had asked for a quiet spot and were given the room clear at the end which was away from the highway. Traffic on that highway is minimal at night as it is mostly daytime traffic since you are at the southend of town. If we had just been driving through, we would not have stopped here so we were pleasantly surprised. The room was huge and there were three double beds, TV, fridge, desk and a table and chairs. Average furnishings but everything was clean. Out front near the office there was a mini golf game that kids were playing with their dad. We stayed two nights as we were visiting Mesa Verde.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
536 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

I found White Eagle Inn on Trip Advisor and was attracted to the fact that it was so clean. Even so, I wasn’t prepared for how clean, neat and tidy everything was. The room was on the small side, but it was immaculate! We stayed in Room 2 which had fresh paint, Queen bed with nice linens and a clean new spread, refrigerator, free WiFi, etc. The TV was wall mounted and there was a desk/dresser combo to maximize use of space. They also offered us a coupon for a restaurant in town. Our rate for a queen room was about $55 + tax.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrishj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cortez
3.0 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
2.1 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
3.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Far View Lodge
Far View Lodge
#1 of 1 in Mesa Verde National Park
1,705 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#10 of 16 in Cortez
187 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge

Property: The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Address: 2110 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-9534
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
White Eagle Inn is a small property with a variety of 16 regular rooms, Kings, Queens, Double Queens and Doubles, and a few rooms with three beds. We also feature a larger vacation rental with three bedrooms, 2 bath, laundry, kitchen, deck (with great view). Our focus is to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable, and friendly accommodation. We are too small to provide 24 hour desk service, and request our guests to check in by 9pm or call on the day of arrival for late-check-in arrangements. Thanks to all for the great reviews and friendly suggestions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing