We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Found Good Chinese food on Main Street, high desert town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hunan Chinese Restaurant

Hunan Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 65 Restaurants in Cortez
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Found Good Chinese food on Main Street, high desert town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

Had the chicken chow mein, crunchy noodles. 'Twas fair, excellent service! Very attentive & not intrusive by any means. Atmosphere was pretty sanitized, white-washed. Big white Chinese globe lantern shades are cool. Mellow chinese tunes. Missed the buffet. Friends were more than satisfied with their plates. Filling. Nothing flashy. Enjoyable Asian dining experience.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tripspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    16
    10
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Good food, but dropped the ball at the end”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

Standard Chinese fare, but a bit higher in taste and quality than the usual place. Very clean and neat, it seemed to be well-organized and I got my food quickly. Tasty and good. But after I finished I was ignored, and finally I ended up going to the desk to pay my bill. I guess they got busy with take-out orders and a large party in one room. I'd eat here again, but would expect to create my own exit.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank tooluser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is the middle of southwest, don't bother with either Chinese food place in town. Food has little taste.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debits2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Food is good...service is fast and the staff is friendly...

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsy-Girl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good, standard American-style Chinese from Fujian folks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

Like most small town Chinese joints, this one is run by very hard working folks from Fujian. That means the food is a bit on the sweet side, and you can expect the expected here. But the place is spotless, quite popular with locals, not cheap but the portions are huge. And the staff are friendly (try out your Mandarin for a big surprised smile!).

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthrotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunan Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hunan Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing