We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint vintage motor lodge with nice make over & CLEAN!”
Review of Tomahawk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tomahawk Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quaint vintage motor lodge with nice make over & CLEAN!”
Reviewed June 4, 2009

Stayed here based on other reviews here on TA and was not disappointed. The rooms have been nicely redone and the hostess was welcoming and helpful. Few amenities but the room was spotless and the bed was great. It is right on the highway, which is convenient but you do get the traffic noise; that's why I travel with ear plugs for no worries. Had to make a U-turn to get into the parking lot, and the spaces were a tad small for my truck. Otherwise, glad I stayed and would return. Great value for $49 incl tax(AAA and mid-week, off-season.)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BetsyFromPike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    101
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
38
94
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2008

This seems like a fairly old motel, but it was clean and the owner was friendly. It is on a busy street so we could hear the traffic, but it didn't really bother us. It was 'no frills', but I wouldn't have expected more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kermodebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2008

I stayed in Cortez overnight with plans to visit nearby Mesa Verde the following day. This little motel looks like most any other along the highway of a small town. But the room was modern, clean, and very comfortable and I was surprised at the low price ($59 + tax at the time I booked). It would be difficult to find a better deal than this. I was a little bummed to see there wasn't a coffee maker in my room. But the owner makes wonderful-tasting, fresh coffee for guests every morning, you just walk to the office for it. The owner, a wonderful lady from Poland, is most gracious, helpful, and friendly. I absolutely will stay here again next time I need a room in this part of Colorado.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Disliked — No coffee maker in room.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crazeditalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

The last Fourth of July, I got it into my head to suddenly drive from Seattle to Four Corners over the long weekend. No planning, no reservations, no schedule - just me and the car and a lightly packed bag. It was a liberating experience, picking motels on the side of the road as we drove past on nothing more than "Hey - that looks like a cool place! Lets stay there!"

Which is how we wound up at the Tomahawk Motel - we were drawn in by the really cool 50's retro sensibility about the place.

Located on the main drag through Cortez, Colorado, on the south end of town, the Tomahawk Motel was probably the most old school of the motels in the whole trip. The sign was 50 kitsch, the motel room numbers were in the shape of a tomahawk, the rooms looked as if they were transplanted from the seventies - and the toilets even had that "Sanitized for your protection" paper wrapper on it. I haven’t seen that little touch in YEARS!

The motel was pretty centrally located, with a sit down restaurant pizza place within easy walking distance and a local drive-in about a minutes drive away. Despite that, and despite being on a highway through town, the motel was nice and quite (AC unit not withstanding - but then ALL the motels I stayed at had noisy AC). The staff - well, at least the one lady I interacted with (presumably the owner) was friendly and helpful and sported the most wonderful old world European accent.

The room itself was a pretty good size for the money - 70 dollars for a double (and that was before the AAA discount - that they threw on without asking to see my card) and clean. The only complaint might have been that the bathroom was kind of on the small side. The shower itself was on par with some of the phone-booth sized showers I've seen in Berlin and Prague.

Overall, I'd say the odds of me staying here again are small - but that's more due to the proximity of the motel to home. However, if I were in Cortez again, I would stay here without a moment's hesitation. Top marks all around.

  • Liked — The throwback 50's retro feel about the motel
  • Disliked — The showers were on the small side
  • Stayed July 2004, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tardis-Geek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skull Valley, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

This is a small, quiet, and CLEAN hotel. Our AAA rate was about $55.00 per night. The rooms were recently remodeled. It has a small pool and free wi-fi. They serve fresh coffee and tea in the office. The owners were very accommodating with parking as we had trailers. We will definately stay there again next year.

  • Liked — Clean place to stay on our way to the Alpine Loop.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank granny54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortez hotels
2.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
1.3 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.3 mi away
Cozy Inn
Cozy Inn
#12 of 16 in Cortez
134 reviews
0.9 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomahawk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomahawk Lodge

Property: Tomahawk Lodge
Address: 728 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-4009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full attention to our gusts needs. Bi-lingual managers - English and Polish. Located very close to major attraction such as: Mesa Verde, Crown Canyon archeological center, Four Corners, Hovenweep National Monument and many more to explore. Call us for the best rate while planning your adventure in Archeological Center of America - Cortez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tomahawk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomahawk Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing