We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tomahawk Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$189
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$124
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde(Cortez)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$124
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge(Cortez)
$71
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge(Cortez)(Great Value!)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kelly Place(Cortez)
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveler rating
46
105
31
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
105
31
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat danesroom was cleanthe king size bedfamily owned hotelmotor lodgecoffee potper nightwater pressurean overnight stayan older hotelflat screenroad tripmonument valleyteresachaindryerchildhood
Filter
Updating list...
116 - 121 of 195 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2012

If you are looking for an inexpensive motel in Cortez, Co and still want to have a very clean updated room, a decent bed and very nice and helpful owners, this is your place. They even have a good line-up of cable TV channels.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The lady at the front desk was wonderful. She was so friendly and offered to make us a new pot of coffee if we would've liked. This motel definitely seems to fit in with the 50s era. The rooms were what you would expect for the price- very minimal and small. The ceilings were quite low, and the cable was basic. However, I think I would likely come back just because of the nice owners and because of the cleanliness of the rooms.
p.s. Although the amenities include a pool, it was closed even in early July.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MM324_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived here at midnight, and the husband and wife who own the Tomahawk were very nice about waiting up for us and checking us in. She is a real sweetheart.

The rooms are very basic (almost spartan-like), but we found them to be very clean and comfortable. The lodge itself seemed pretty safe, and I didn't see any sketchy characters loitering around, as I did on other parts of our trip.

What I liked most was the homey feel of the place and that it is locally owned. The owner is very nice and gives a real personal touch to her customer service. She said that if you stay here and need anything like a coffee pot or hair dryer, let her know when you check in and she'll do her best to accommodate your request.

Room Tip: Ask the owner when you book a room. She let my husband know that a room was noisy, so he chose something else.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jojobaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was our third stay at the Tomahawk. Our group of bikers travels through Cortez a few times a year. We've stayed at the more upscale places at the north end of town and paid just over double the rate that we pay at the Tomahawk. This place is a bit dated, but not run down. The owner, Teresa, is very friendly and makes sure that your needs are met. It is in a quiet part of town and not far from the cluster of restaurants.

Bikers--this is a very biker-friendly place. This is a great place to launch a San Juan Skyway/Million Dollar Highway loop ride.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Clean, efficient, value for money, everything I would expect from a stay at a motel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HMrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews