We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more gracious owners”
Review of Tomahawk Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tomahawk Lodge
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more gracious owners”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The lady at the front desk was wonderful. She was so friendly and offered to make us a new pot of coffee if we would've liked. This motel definitely seems to fit in with the 50s era. The rooms were what you would expect for the price- very minimal and small. The ceilings were quite low, and the cable was basic. However, I think I would likely come back just because of the nice owners and because of the cleanliness of the rooms.
p.s. Although the amenities include a pool, it was closed even in early July.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MM324_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    101
    31
    7
    6
See reviews for
38
94
15
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We arrived here at midnight, and the husband and wife who own the Tomahawk were very nice about waiting up for us and checking us in. She is a real sweetheart.

The rooms are very basic (almost spartan-like), but we found them to be very clean and comfortable. The lodge itself seemed pretty safe, and I didn't see any sketchy characters loitering around, as I did on other parts of our trip.

What I liked most was the homey feel of the place and that it is locally owned. The owner is very nice and gives a real personal touch to her customer service. She said that if you stay here and need anything like a coffee pot or hair dryer, let her know when you check in and she'll do her best to accommodate your request.

Room Tip: Ask the owner when you book a room. She let my husband know that a room was noisy, so he chose somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojobaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
288 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This was our third stay at the Tomahawk. Our group of bikers travels through Cortez a few times a year. We've stayed at the more upscale places at the north end of town and paid just over double the rate that we pay at the Tomahawk. This place is a bit dated, but not run down. The owner, Teresa, is very friendly and makes sure that your needs are met. It is in a quiet part of town and not far from the cluster of restaurants.

Bikers--this is a very biker-friendly place. This is a great place to launch a San Juan Skyway/Million Dollar Highway loop ride.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Clean, efficient, value for money, everything I would expect from a stay at a motel. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HMrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Running Springs, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We were on a Corvette run with 5 cars. Our preference is to go to 50's 60's style Motels where you park in front of your room. This place was clean and quiet, Owner managers were very nice. Not much for breakfast but given the price that is not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimDodgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingman
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Shame on me for not writing about this place. We first stayed here years ago on our way to Ft Garland. What I liked is the managers....love them! They are so nice! This place is clean. We just stayed again June 4-7th and as always, Teresa is still friendly as ever. Unfortunately, the pool is closed down because apparently they have to make it handicapped friendly and that is going to cost them alot of money, but, it's sad that those of us who are not handicap can't use it. If they open it without the handicapped access, they will be fined. That is such a bummer. Otherwise the place is a good place to stop for an overnighter or a few days.

Room Tip: Bring hairdryer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manxmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I booked this hotel after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. This hotel is privately owned and operated by a delightful Polish couple ( I only had contact with the wife). While making the reservation, I was asked if I was travelling with a pet. I replied no, my shih-tzu was left at home. When I checked in, I was asked about my shih-tzu! The owners have two huge, did I say huge?, I meant huuuuuge, great danes that are behind, and head level to the counter and perfectly behaved. What more could anyone want than a friendly welcome, animal friendly atmosphere, and a nice room?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dajori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortez hotels
1.3 mi away
Best Western Turquoise Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aneth Lodge
Aneth Lodge
#11 of 16 in Cortez
93 reviews
2.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Cortez
0.9 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tomahawk Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tomahawk Lodge

Property: Tomahawk Lodge
Address: 728 S Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-4009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full attention to our gusts needs. Bi-lingual managers - English and Polish. Located very close to major attraction such as: Mesa Verde, Crown Canyon archeological center, Four Corners, Hovenweep National Monument and many more to explore. Call us for the best rate while planning your adventure in Archeological Center of America - Cortez. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tomahawk Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tomahawk Hotel Cortez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing