We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cozy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cozy Inn
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed one night on our way out to the Grand Canyon. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. The pool isn't much, but the kids enjoyed it anyway. There is a hot tub too. The continental breakfast is limited, but about what we expected from the price and based on other reviews. You can kind of hear through the walls, but no one was up late being loud when we were there, so it was fine.

One really nice thing is that when the latch on the trunk of our rental car malfunctioned the morning we were trying to leave, the owner (the place is family-run) immediately volunteered to help. He had tools and was quite handy, so between he and my husband, they had it fixed pretty quickly. You don't always get that kind of personal attention elsewhere. Can't imagine how long it would have taken to call a service to come help (especially for what was a fairly small matter, but hard to do yourself if you're on the road and don't have the necessary tools).

All in all, we'd definitely stay here again if we're ever passing through Cortez.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allegra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    41
    31
    17
    12
See reviews for
42
44
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We did a good bit of research before booking the Knights Inn in Cortez. The town's proximity to Mesa Verde National Park means that prices can be pretty high at certain times of the week. We really lucked out and got our rooms for $130 for two nights. Although located on the main road through the town, as all the hotels are, we weren't bothered by road noise. The rooms, while basically furnished were very clean and the hotel owners extremely friendly and helpful. It is a real family concern with three generations of a family helping to run this motel. There's pool, hot-tub and a reasonably priced guest laundry which we took advantage of. The continental breakfast o was fulsome with plenty of choice although 9am finish when you're on holiday is a little early!

When we found ourselves coming back through Cortez on the return leg of our journey we booked in for a further night, so overall our stay mustn't have been bad.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrEsther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

The rooms were clean, the bed was comfy, what more could you ask for. They also had a pool and hot tub. The only complaint is the breakfast- bread to make toast and some cereal.

I did have an issue with this place but I will not go into detail because the issue was handled very professionally by the couple that run the hotel. Just beware if their son checks you in...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MilColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 820 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

It seems this propery is owned and run by a family. I was checked-in by the son and the father, both of them appeared neglected and dirty. Especially the boy's T-shirt caught my attention - I have never seen such a dirty T-shirt. It was as if a mechanic pulls out of under a car and then serves guests at front desk the next second.

Well, I figured, perhaps the rooms were better. Wrong assumption. I was assigned a ground level room in the older building. The room was just terrible, everything was decades old, run down, worn out, there were switches missing, the deadbolt was missing, it did not seem clean, there were stains of drinks on the bedside table ... Then came the worst discovery. The beds didn't look like they were freshly made, the cover was just kind of pulled over. So I opened the bed and you could tell the sheets have not been changed. There was even a used handkerchief in the bed!

I decided I was not staying here. Went back to the front desk and this time the lady was on duty. Told her about the unchanged sheets and the handkerchief, she wasn't even surprised or didn't even deny it. She started pulling out some notebooks, telling me she "needs to find out which girl didn't do her job ...". My job at this property was done. Returned the room keys and left.

Do yourself a favour, spent a few more bucks and stay someplace else in Cortez. There lots of better options.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cortez hotels

nw wisconsin
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

I can't speak to the price as we are on Ride the Rockies and have package deal for lodging. I would definitely stay here again! AC was wonderful as was the shower and our 2 queen beds, fridge and microwave! On site laundry was a bonus too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cjpfootloose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phx az
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Its not the Ritz, or the four seasons, but it doesn't claim to be. Its an older building, and rooms are dated, but they are clean, quiet, and if you are going to Mesa Verde you are not going there for the hotel room anyway. One of the best values in town, and not sure there are better rooms in "Cortez" anyway. Cortez is a desitination for Mesa Verde, but otherwise, is a stop for travellers. Most if not all the hotel rooms cater to that (Mesa Verde visitors/Travellers who need to stop for night). The other thing that I loved, was I was able to park right next to the door of my room. I was there for almost 2 weeks and had many things that were heavy and akward---but could not be left in the car. There was a dog show in town, and so there were also many dogs, and I heard a few barks, it was still very quiet. Be being able to park by the door, and the outside right out the door (vs a hallway or big parkway, pool, or landscaping,) it is great for things like dog show people, workers who have equipment, or people who have disabilities and cannot maneuver stairs or long walks.

As I say, its not a 5 star hotel, but its doesn't try to be. IT does very well at what it is, a nice clean, safe, and quiet facility--with great prices.

If you want this, clean, safe, quiet, and reasonable price--that accepts dogs, workers, and also---has fridge and microwave in each room, then this is your place.





Its well worth the price, and YES, highly recommended.

Room Tip: There is an older part and a newer part (still old) but its in back). The pool is by the older part...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsdryheat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you want a cheap hotel and a simple place to lay your head, this may do, except the beds were terrible. You could feel the springs in the mattress, the room was dirty and smokey. Don't think about showing up late. You will get a very angry innkeeper, who will yell at you if you ring the bell more than once. I'd say you get what you pay for, but I'd be lying. Try somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cortez hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Turquoise Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Tomahawk Lodge
Tomahawk Lodge
#9 of 16 in Cortez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
2.1 mi away
Retro Inn at Mesa Verde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Mesa Verde / Cortez
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Cortez
Travelodge Cortez
#14 of 16 in Cortez
3.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
1.2 mi away
The White Eagle Inn & Family Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cozy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cozy Inn

Property: Cozy Inn
Address: 440 South Broadway, Cortez, CO 81321-3426 (Formerly Nights Inn)
Location: United States > Colorado > Cortez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Cortez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cozy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locally and family owned and managed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Cozy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing