We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get an extra map if you have a large group.”

Hovenweep National Monument
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Cortez
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Located in Utah but near Cortez, this site has six ruin sites all built around 1200 AD. Hovenweep is 42 miles from Cortez, CO and approximately 48 from Blanding, UT
TEMPE
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get an extra map if you have a large group.”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My nephews learned the hard way that they should never leave the people who have the map, as they got lost on the trail down in the canyon, and ended up having to turn back the way they came and retrace they steps. It made for a LONG walk for them, probably over 4 miles (the basic trail is 2 miles, with an additional 1/4 mile if you take the extra loop). Even in March, we all ended up getting a bit of sun, and one of the boys got VERY sunburned.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawnrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    319
    130
    21
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
543 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“ruins galore”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

If you are in the area to visit Mesa Verde, by all means take the time to tour Hovenweep National Monument. In contrast to the cliff dwellings at Mesa Verde, these ruins are structurally more diverse from circular to square towers to more traditional block houses and can be seen on or near the tops of plateaus. The selection that is a short walk from the visitor center here is well worth the visit. There are also other sites within the park to see if you have the right vehicle. On a recent wintry visit, we chose not to take the muddy unpaved roads even with our 4-wheeled drive vehicle. When the roads are dry though they can be quite navigable and the ruin sights are worth the visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimSTL1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An adventure”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hovenweep will take you out on the res (considerably), but it's worth it if you're into such stuff.. Cheers.. Ron

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KokopelliFJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A casual, not crowded Ancient Ones site”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Get a picnic lunch, head out Hwy.491 to the Hovenweep signs, keep driving, you will get there. I have been here many times, we take all of our company here, too. This is remote compared to Mesa Verde and it is also free. There is a lovely picnic area and a huge building and kiva. This is handicapped accessible, even the picnic area has a site or two. There are paved walk ways to the whole area. There are explanatory signs all over. Especially if you have young children, this is the spot for you!
If you have not been here, go. It is on the Great Sage Plain and you will feel the vastness of the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ann69982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The towers are amazing!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

The drive was a bit longer than we expected but it was worth the trip. We had a nice 2 mile hike through the ruins. We visited the two wineries on the way back to Cortez. It was a great way to spend a day.

Helpful?
2 Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hovenweep National Monument also viewed

 

Been to Hovenweep National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing