We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NASTY AND VERY RUDE!!!!!”
Review of SunBay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
SunBay Resort
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“NASTY AND VERY RUDE!!!!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Rudest general manger i ever seen!!! Pool chairs had grease all over them, when i told gm he said oh well!! But did pay for my 50 dollar shirt with some fight!! Never stay here again and will write a review in my magizine NAST PLACE, DO NOT STAY HERE!!!

Room Tip: NASTY AND RUDE never again will i stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    42
    16
    10
    12
See reviews for
41
37
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We visited for a week in March. We had a top floor penthouse and the weather was surprisingly quite good but variable. One moment we were sipping drinks on the balcony and the next we were having hot toddies by the fire. We had to ask, but we got all the wood we needed. We were two couples and had a two bedroom and both the master bedroom and the guest bedroom and the baths were very nice and clean and comfortable. Whatever we needed, we asked for and received. The kitchen was well equipped and any additional implement needed was available. We enjoyed our stay and will return next year.

Room Tip: The top floors are our favorites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orange
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We spent a week at this resort thru timeshare exchange. At first, they had our unit in the newer section; however, we would have had to climb 2 sets of stairs. With luggage, etc. for a week stay and our ages (senior citizens), we elected to stay in the older main building. It was very clean and comfortable with a beautiful view of Lake Hamilton. The only drawback is the old fashioned, small bathrooms. It was worth the trade-off to use an elevator.

Room Tip: If you cannot do steps, check before you arrive to get a unit in the building with elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetT1817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Inherited this timeshare from my parents. Never had a chance to stay here till now. Will definitely make it an annual retreat from now on. Location is excellent, right on Lake Hamilton, breathtaking view! Villas are spacious... full kitchen, living areas, bedrooms... felt like home! TVs could use updating, but everything else is top notch. Staff was very friendly. Looking forward to return visit.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cdburrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We spent the first week of April at SunBay.
Our unit was a top floor 2 bed/.2bath lake front condo. The ever changing weather had us enjoying a meal on the great balcony one day and taking advantage of the fireplace the next.
My DW commented that this condo had the best equipped kitchen of any we had ever encountered in our travels. No need to haul stuff from home for this one. The condo was nicely furnished, however some flat screens would be a welcome upgrade.
The resort has a variety of units, ours happened to be in "B" building. The 17 steps are well worth it to gain that nice water front view.
While we did not use many of the resort amenities, all of our encounters with the desk crew and staff were favorable.
We will definitely return to SunBay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gonetomaui99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

I initially was booked for a 2 bedroom condo however the room had 2 19" old school t.v. no microwave,fridge or phone just to bedrooms.
I requested a 1 bedroom suite which was a lil better however a small box t.v. and full size bed.The best thing about the room was the kitchen to cook and the jacuzzi tub. The restaurant is very expensive for example a 12 ounce steak $30. We found a nice friendly place down the street called Rib Cage. The owners were very friendly and the sauce and banana pudding is a most to try. The Blue Monkey was a nice spot about 4 miles up the road on central avenue.The view was nice from the room.THE HOTEL NEEDS MAJOR UPGRADES.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank highenuff77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

My family and I enjoyed it. There was a little issue with parking the first day of arrival until everyone figured it out, but it was not a big problem and worth it being that close to the lake. You get 1 assigned parking in front of your room, but there was plenty of parking within a 100 yard walk and also plenty if you don't stay in the condos on the lake. Our room was nice and updated and really enjoyed the wood burning fireplace.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
1.2 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
1.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Hot Springs
Staybridge Suites Hot Springs
#8 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
#5 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SunBay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunBay Resort

Property: SunBay Resort
Address: 4810 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71913-7499
Location: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — SunBay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your SunBay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing