We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stupendous Portions, Quality and Service”
Review of Phil's Restaurant

Phil's Restaurant
Ranked #51 of 296 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Description: At Phil's, it is our goal to make you feel like one of the family! We want your experience at Phil's to be just like coming home for a meal with your family. Join us, and "make yourself at home." Phil Dugan began his journey in the restaurant business in 1970. He started when he was fifteen years old working at Jud's Steak House. He then worked twenty-six years for Western Sizzlin Steak House. In June of 2001, he opened Phil's Family Restaurant on Grand Avenue and in 2014 made the move to 2900 Central Avenue directly across the street from the entrance to Oaklawn Park Race Track. Phil's offers the best in southern style home cooking - just like home, but without the mess! :-) We hope to see you time and time again - as we welcome you, your friends, and your family to OUR family!
Restaurant details
Description: At Phil's, it is our goal to make you feel like one of the family! We want your experience at Phil's to be just like coming home for a meal with your family. Join us, and "make yourself at home." Phil Dugan began his journey in the restaurant business in 1970. He started when he was fifteen years old working at Jud's Steak House. He then worked twenty-six years for Western Sizzlin Steak House. In June of 2001, he opened Phil's Family Restaurant on Grand Avenue and in 2014 made the move to 2900 Central Avenue directly across the street from the entrance to Oaklawn Park Race Track. Phil's offers the best in southern style home cooking - just like home, but without the mess! :-) We hope to see you time and time again - as we welcome you, your friends, and your family to OUR family!
Reviewed May 1, 2017

Had an amazing Easter Lunch with traditional fixings of ham, chicken and dressing, etc. went back form breakfast a week later. Had the "simple" breakfast of one egg, two pieces of bacon and one hot cake. Who knew this would be a stupendous amount of food. Quality was excellent. My one scrambled egg looked like it was two, maybe three. Cooked perfectly in the French style of being soft and creamy. My two pieces of bacon were three, cooked perfectly, mostly Chrissy with a slight amount of "chew." The hot cake was the size of a dinner plate. I ordered and extra side of strawberries. I expeacted it to be frozen sauce but they were fresh berries in a little sauce and fresh, real whipped cream. The syrup served with it was served in a warm container, a very nice touch. Paul served us both times with excellent, attentive service. Will be back soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ConwayCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us and others about your visits to Phil's! We greatly appreciate your allowing us to be a part of your day! We know there are many great options in the Hot Springs area and are honored and thrilled you have chosen us repeatedly!
As a small business, we know the value of feedback from our guests so we can continue to adjust or change if necessary! We also know the value of kind words to promote and encourage new guests! So, THANK YOU!
We look forward to seeing you again soon and often!
Have a wonderful week!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 151 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2017 via mobile

I'll try lunch ot dinner here since my breakfast was good. Easy access, clean with nice choices for basic American menu. If you order the pancakes you'll definitely need an appetite.

Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2017

Nick, thank you for choosing to dine with us! We also appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us and for others!
We are thrilled you enjoyed breakfast! We hope to see you soon for lunch or dinner!
Have a great weekend!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017

This looks like a little shack from the outside but I was so pleased as soon as we walked in. Very friendly and happy setting. Then the food came out, WOW! The best tasting food I have had in a long time. Country cooking at its best. Loved it so much.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2017

Julie, thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of your day! We are so glad you chose to dine with us and appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us and others!!!
As a small business, we know the importance and value of our guests' feedback!
We hope you have a great day and we look forward to your next visit with us!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2017

This is a really cute restaurant with lot's to look at while you wait for some of the best home cooking anywhere,love the huge breakfast and they have chocolate gravy it's a must try for first timers and the pancakes well they are huge and great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stacy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

Stacy, thank you so much for taking the time to post your thoughts about Phil's! We greatly appreciate your helping to spread the word about us!
We are honored you enjoyed your visit and we can't wait to see you again sometime soon!!!
Have a great weekend!!!!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

We had a family breakfast at Phil's on a Saturday morning during racing season. I would've given it a 5 rating if it hadn't been for an extremely long wait (which is expected during racing season, but this was a very long wait.).

The food was great and the servings were huge. The pancakes were delicious. We will definitely go back, just not during racing season.

Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul M, Front Office Manager at Phil's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Steven, thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! We appreciate your making Phil's a part of your day!
It is a little crazy on weekends, but Phil works very hard to push delicious and consistent food from the very small kitchen! It is amazing how much food he cooks daily!
We will be looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Phil's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;