We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food good, service lacking.”
Review of On the Border

On the Border
Ranked #130 of 274 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Benton, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food good, service lacking.”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a late lunch and wanted Mexican food. Neither of us had eaten here in a year or two and decided to try it. Seated quickly and had to wait for a server. She finally came and took our drink order. It took awhile for our drinks to come and longer to place our food order. Food was delivered quickly and was very good. Our server did not check on us until time for our check. The restaurant was not busy, but I don't think we will return.

Helpful?
Thank dwbpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    27
    20
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“This place is my FAVORITE!!”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Besides the margaritas, this place has the best Mexican food. It always comes out steaming hot. The ultimate fajitas are my favorite. So glad they have a location closer to me now!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must have had an off night !!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Service was slow and uninspired .We had the endless enchiladas . They were cold , and very dry .There was not more than a teaspoon of chili sauce on them . We asked for more chips and were not given any salsa for the chips . No lemon for the tea , but the worse part of the meal is that is wasn't served hot . Mexican food is supposed to sizzle!! Some places even use metal plates. This place didn't
used to be like this. Must be new management or the managers just don't care anymore.Disapointing
evening . Visit was around 6:00 pm on a friday .

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank handyandy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My first time there”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Food was good, a tad spicy for my taste but I just can't handle spicy foods. Our waitress was very nice!! Food was really good!! The queso was amazing

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate here the night we arrived in Hot Springs. The food was amazing. Our server kept our drinks full and was really good with the kids. The kids meals come with dessert which is always a nice bonus. There is also a shopping center behind the restaurant that we went to after we were done eating.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wmaraionet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing