We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really liked this place - Via Roma is the name.”

Via Roma Italian Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 277 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $45
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Family owned Italian fine dining restaurant that serves pasta, chicken, veal, seafood, lamb and beef dishes cooked on the spot, by order, with prime meat, fresh and best quality ingredients.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“We really liked this place - Via Roma is the name.”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We enjoyed our family dinner at Via Roma. The food was well prepared and the pasta dishes that we had combined distinctive flavor and freshness. Service was very attentive once things got rolling. It took a few minutes to get service going, an unusual flow, but we were pretty indecisive. The recommendations were nice.

The food was prepared with excellent little details, like the freshness of the sauce and the firmness of the pasta. The bread and dip was outstanding. Our appetizer plate had many flavorful options. Entrees were hot and delicious - in managable portions (enough to share). The desserts were good, too.

Via Roma is easy to recommend and the overall experience was very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    33
    17
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice ambience”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a nice place a bit off the beaten path. The food was good, although not great; however, the prices were more reasonable than those you'll see in the Italian places on Central Ave. The desserts are homemade, but we tried both the creme brulee and tiramisu and found both to be short of perfection. The creme brulee had been overcooked and the carmelization went on too long, burning the carmel. Meal-wise, we had the spaghetti and meatballs, which my husband found a bit flavorless (my son was happy with his) and the canneloni, also not particularly robust. We were not unhappy by any means, but we wouldn't be in a huge hurry to go back, either.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaleoBon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Intimate setting, without over doing it. We were dressed casually (jeans/sweater) and didn't feel out of place. We also didn't have reservations, which seems to be common here, yet we were seated within 5 mins. Owner even gave us a free dessert shot (very strong!), which was a surprise. Overall, we would definately go back if in Hot Springs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atoka, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“We liked this restaurant”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had lunch here. I had the pizza and my granddaughter had the spaghetti. The pizza was good but it had so much cheese on it, I could only eat one slice. The spaghetti was perfect. The bread basket ws white bread with real butter. I will eat lunch here again.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A lovely evening at Via Roma”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Via Roma is a beautifully decorated and romantic upscale Italian restaurant, where you are likely to be greeted by the owner and served by a team of earnest and attentive waiters. I'm a fan of the spinach salad with goat cheese medallions so that is always my choice. My husband usually chooses the soup. He almost always has a pasta dish and has enjoyed everything he has ordered. I usually have fish, especially the grilled tuna, which was not available on our most recent trip. But hearing that it wasn't available because the quality was not up to the chef's standards was good news and bodes well for the other fish on the menu. Somewhat strangely, only the house wines are available by the glass, but the house merlot and Chianti are both good. The owner sent Via Roma after dinner "shots" to us -- his own blend of six liquors plus a bit of whipped cream -- which was lovely and intriguing. I couldn't figure out what all the liquors were, so we will have to go back and try again! The food is good, the owner is local, the service is excellent, and we just really like the elegant but comfortable and friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ArkansasOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Via Roma Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Via Roma Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing