We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, homey atmosphere”

Colonial Pancake & Waffle House
Ranked #19 of 277 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, homey atmosphere”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Breakfast here was good, but I was expecting better based on the Southern Living recommendation they advertised. The sausage was kind of gristly for my taste, but the biscuits were very good. The atmosphere was interesting - I sort of felt like I was eating in my great-grandmother's kitchen.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aw511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    106
    45
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waco, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place was close to our hotel and opened early, which we needed. We got there as they opened. They were friendly and helpful, and soon the local regulars came in, and they too were super friendly. The breakfast was really good, so we would all recommend it again. The atmosphere is warm and cozy, with quilts on the walls, and wood beams above you. Really enjoyed it.
One quirk, to go to the restroom, you have to go through the kitchen and the staff working there. But at lesast you can see everything is clean.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank edra45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Greatest place in Hot Springs!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We are regular customers at this wonderful establishment & we love the place! Great food,exceptional service & clean with a nice decor.It seems a lot of people confuse this place with The Pancake Shop down the street.Colonial Pancake & Waffle House take credit cards,the food is really good & we've NEVER seen any employee be rude. As for the customer complaining about the price I can only point out the prices are clearly marked on the menu. Sounds like they got quite a lot for $28. I highly recommend this local family owned cafe anytime!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank usagurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good hot breakfast!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

What a delicious breakfast! We ate breakfast at this restaurant two (2) mornings in a row. We arrived both mornings around 9:30 am and were very impressed with the food taste and quality. Our breakfast was delicious-both mornings.
The sausage patties was perfectly seasoned and probably the best I have ever eaten-anywhere. The taste of the sausage spices were mild and hearty. We also had fried eggs; mine were cooked perfectly, but one of my family member's eggs were not cooked the way she ordered, but ate them anyway. We had pancakes and waffles, truly the best pancakes and waffles we have ever eaten. The hashbrowns were hot, as was the freshly brewed coffee. The biscuits were also good as was the gravy ordered alongside.
We also heard the burgers were great but we didn't have the chance to try them but will try upon visiting again.
We can't wait to go back for a visit to Hot Springs because this is definitely a breakfast place we will go to every morning during our visit. Delicious!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eatout247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weatherford, Texas
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“$28.00 for BREAKFAST?????”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We ate at several places in Hot Springs. This was by far THE WORSE and the most expensive (including our dinner fare at others places) The waitress was NOT friendly, the food was below average and I still keep going over the check -not believing they added $2 for 2 tblsp of gravy, $2 for ea coffee, $3 for hashbrowns (not offered with sausage and eggs?????) $3 for OJ, and I still cant make two meals for $6.95 each come up to $28.00. Absolutely unbelievable for a pancake house b'fast that should have at least enjoyable - dont believe the good reviews!!!! Stay away from this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Pancake & Waffle House also viewed

 
 

Been to Colonial Pancake & Waffle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing