We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, Good price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Perkins Restaurant & Bakery - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Perkins Restaurant & Bakery
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Winnsboro, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food, Good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very good place to eat! We eat breakfast there several days in a row. Very good food at a real good price. Nice bakery also. very clean neat place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
El Dorado, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, great food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

I really think some of the reviews I've seen are a little melodramatic. The Perkins in Little Rock is good, and so is the one in Hot Springs. Several of the waitresses there are younger women, but I saw at least four women who were past retirement age. Our waitress was an older woman, and she was very good at her job. The food is excellent (we had pancakes, bacon, sausage, shredded potatoes, and eggs) and so is the service. Every waitress I've ever had at a Perkin's has been polite, professional, and gotten us "in and out." I did not have any dessert, but when I was waiting at the register to pay, the gentlemen in front of me bought an entire pie, so it must be pretty good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank confettibird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not so pleasant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

We decided to go here, mainly because the weather was bad and it was really close to hotel. The waitress was really high strung. She was really nice and friendly, but just really talkative. When our orders arrived, my husband ordered the pork chops and all he said was "this is really chewy". He couldn't eat them. Couldn't even cut them with a fork. So he swapped it out for something else (chicken fried steak). He said that was way better. My friend ordered a steak medium well and it was well done. Sent that back. The waitress apologized completely, even though it wasn't her fault. She worked hard to get everything right for us. She told the manager and he came by and said "all squared away now?" Seriously? How about a dessert on me for ruining your dinner? Nope nothing, not a discount, not a piece of pie...nothing. Even the waitress said how rude that was. We ordered dessert anyway and it was good. (No sugar added wildberry pie) Oh and the bathroom was disgusting.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MelissaS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marksville, Louisiana
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast fast and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had a Great Breakfast of French toast and a 7 Item Breakfast don't remember the Name of it but it was verry good only thing I didn't like was that because we had gotten a sausage patty they only gave one instead of 2 so it was really a 6 item breakfast...... value for the price and the service was great.....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sfxmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Music too loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

While on a weekend getaway, we visited Perkins for a Saturday morning breakfast. They were doing a really good business, the food was good, and the price was a good value for the Hot Springs area. The music was turned up all the way. All the customers were trying to talk above the level of the music. Fortunately, the volume knob was adjacent to our table and it somehow was turned off. The level of hoise in the restaurant immediately dropped several decibals with only one customer seeming to even notice.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank OldArmySoldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perkins Restaurant & Bakery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing