We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gilligan's Lakeside Cafe
Ranked #178 of 274 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Rockwall, TX
Level Contributor
256 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My sister recommended this restaurant for breakfast so we decided to eat here instead of eating hotel food. The waitress was friendly and we were seated at a table by the window. Service was prompt and our order was soon taken. The coffee was weak. I ordered eggs over easy, bacon, grits and toast. My husband ordered eggs over easy, bacon, hash browns and toast. The eggs were cooked as we like them. The bacon was thick cut, that we do like. My grits were very clumpy but edible. My husband's hash browns were very greasy and had a weird taste. I gave this restaurant an average rating because of the view and the friendly waitress. Otherwise it would have gotten a poor rating. I would not eat here again and I would not recommend it to anyone either. Don't think that I will listen to my sister's recommendations anymore either.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fencepost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    4
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
86 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breakfast with a View”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We were one of the earliest parties on a Friday morning, so we got a prime window seat overlooking Lake Hamilton. The breakfast was great. Bacon, yummy, and eggs cooked perfectly. Coffee kept coming. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rudest people I've ever seen!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We walked in for breakfast with 4 of us. We had to move chairs to accommodate the 4 of us. Sign said "seat yourself". We were then ignored for 5 minutes. No water, menus coffee. Nothing. One waitress cleaned the table next to us and never even acknowledged us. Every waitress totally ignored us, as if we were invisible Then a couple came in and sat down. Immediately they were brought water, menus and silver wear and were greeted with a big smile. We walked out! I couldn't rate the food as I have no idea how it was.

Our friends just moved their boat to a nearby marina and we were all looking forward to eating there. Needless to say, none of us will ever, be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karlee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palestine, Texas
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This place was recommended when we took the paddle boat dinner cruise and it was everything they said it would be. Great view of the lake and good food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank marypat0823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good breakfast, good view, good salsa”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The waitress was off her game and not too personable, but the food was good and fresh. Really good homemade salsa goes well with eggs and omelets, but you'll need to ask for extra, because it comes in tiny plastic to-go cups. Gravy isn't homemade, but it's good. Cute decor, small place, cozy atmosphere, and some nice souvenir mugs for sale. Would deserve an extra star in the rating if the waitress had been more personable.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dlwebbok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilligan's Lakeside Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Gilligan's Lakeside Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing