We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, "city" national park”

Hot Springs National Park
Ranked #9 of 74 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
South Carrollton, Ky
Level Contributor
353 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Fun, "city" national park”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

While we mostly think of a national park in the wilderness area, this is a unique urban setting. The old bath houses are beautiful, worth a tour of those which are open. Some are being repaired & updated, but quite lovely on the outside. Much history here from a past of luxury. My own grandfather, a doctor in Little Rock, sent patients to "take the waters". Didn't get to do that on this trip but have friends who assure us that we do want to take the "baths" on our return trip. Very interesting & historical look into our country's past.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelers1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    123
    53
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atanta, GA
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very Surprised... Not a all what we thought.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

First off... the photos that you will find of water falls and such, not sure were they are, but not in Hot Springs. This is more about the buildings and hot baths that were built in the 1930's (I think). We were only there for a few hours, I know not long enough, and want to go back. It was very busy when we were there and we with so many people, it was hard to drive around. Some of the bath houses were just beautiful. Bath house row was really interesting. This place is very touristy, something along the lines of Gatlinburg, but not that bad. We did get to put our hand in some of the spring water and it is hot... that was pretty neat. Like I said, would love to go back when not so busy and tour some of the bath houses and see if we can find those waterfalls.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skyarrow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio,TX United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“"Arkansas The Natural State"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Hot Springs National Park, not the city inside the park, as are most of the reviews listed here. The Free "Natural Spring Water" is still available to all, with Natural HOT Springs, located on Central Av and Natural COLD Spings, at several different locations, ie.,Fountain Street Springs,or Whitington Av. Each Spring has its own unique flavor, crisp and refreshing.Mountain drives with vistor friendly trails for hikers of all levels.The "Hot"Natural Spring WATERFALL is amazing,and breathtaking in winter.(beautiful and romantic). Lakes, Hamilton, Catherine, DeGray and the largest, Lake Ouchita. offer camping, boating,fishing, and swimming..Take your Tents, RV's and fishing poles, heck, even the bird watching was fun!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The main Fordyce Bath Visitor Center was under renovation during our visit, but it was still an interesting visit. The park rangers are wonderful, and our daughter loved doing the junior ranger program. August heat was brutal, and getting water from such a green water source wasn't appealing, but it's still a fascinating landmark. Looks like a quirky town with interesting shops and restaurants, if our kids weren't so little.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TampaEditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, Maryland
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Unique National Park”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I prefer the National Parks that are further off the beaten trail, but this one does have its unique features - where else can you bathe in the spring water and take some home with you? There are fountains located a few places around town where you can fill up a jug or two with spring water to take home. We didn't spend much time here, but did go into one of the bath houses (we made a reservation about a week before we arrived) and bathe in a hot tub of spring water. We also visited the Visitor's Center (temporarily relocated a few bath houses down from its usual location due to some renovations - signs on the original location will direct you where to go) and drove up the mountain to the Observation Tower (but didn't go up the Tower). It's an OK place with some unique features, but it's probably our least favorite National Park visited so far (my husband has visited 26 of the 59 Parks, I've probably visited 21 or 22). A little too urban for our tastes, but I'm glad we visited once.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank smm628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Springs National Park also viewed

 

Been to Hot Springs National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing