We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Happy Hollow Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Happy Hollow Motel
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Hot Springs
Terrell, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great little place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

After reading reviews here, thought we would give this place a try. It is old, very old, and funiture is old. BUT, it was clean, price was GREAT, and lady at desk was nice. We talked to a few other guests that felt the same way.
We paid $126 total for two nights on a weekend. It is about a hundred yards from the 'strip' so you can walk to shops, restaurants, clubs, etc....
We will go back at sometime in the future.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greggtex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    6
    6
    12
See reviews for
18
28
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Micib
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

Hot Springs seems to be full of pretty dilapidated hotels and motels - rather like much of the town, they've seen better days.
Unfortunately, this motel was no different.
The staircase leading up to our stairs had a pretty horrid smell - something reminiscent of boiled cabbage.
The room clearly hadn't been redecorated in years ... the carpet furniture looked like they'd fallen out of the 70s or early 80s although things were pretty clean.
The door had two locks but one of them could only be locked when you were inside the room. The other one seemed pretty fragile, so we didn't feel very secure.
The people running the place were very nice and friendly but I'm afraid that wouldn't be enough to persuade me to stay here again even though it's very cheap and has been given reasonable reviews by others.

  • Liked — Cheap
  • Disliked — Cabbage type smell on the stairs - or maybe the problems with the door locks
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Micib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hot Springs hotels

NW Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2008

The Happy Hollow will definately be our accomodations for future trips to Hot Springs. From first glance when pulling in, I thought the place was a little dingy - however, when I met the owner she was very nice. The room was VERY clean!

For $58 a night, we got 2 full size beds and a full kitchen - which was an outstanding price. The kitchen had new appliances, dishes and cookware. The bathroom was small, but very clean.

Overall, the stay was absolutely wonderful - and I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, price, location
  • Disliked — Nothing, other than a little shabby on outside
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo_hill44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

My family and I stayed three nights at Happy Hollow and absolutely loved it. We have a 5-year-old and a 16-year-old who also loved it. It is older, very quaint and the lady that runs it is a doll. It is VERY convenient to downtown (we walked everywhere) with free parking and great hospitality. We didn't bring our pet, but many people did (only $10 extra!). We had a full size 'fridge (which you never get at a hotel) and a stove with an oven, which allowed us to cook at the room (I made spaghetti in advance and took it with us) and save some money. We will definitely be back many times and will always stay at Happy Hollow. Thanks for a great experience.

Shannon

  • Liked — The price and location.
  • Disliked — No breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank misfire1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Level Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2008

It seems that depending upon what type of person you are, you will either love the Happy Hollow motel or you will hate it. Personally I loved it. Yes it is older, yes it is quaint and yes it has some problems... but it is in a great location and has a great price and the sheets were clean!

The motel is at the end of a street that leads into the National Park. The motel itself is probably 70 years old or older. It features kitchenettes which was nice.

The staff was very polite and helpful, pointing out coupons and thinsg to do for the kids when we go there. Our room had a VCR and they have a complete libary of movies to choose from.

Still - the Happy Hallow could use some TLC. With a little renovation and soem landscaping work this could be a really nice motel.

Overall we were happy, we got 2 bedrooms, a kitchen and a balcony for $ 89 per night.

Don't exepct the Ritz Carlton, and do understand this is a small family run motel and things will be alright.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needs updating
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Teambanzai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

I booked this hotel for a Valentine's day weekend trip to Hot Springs for the horse races with my wife. Usually I stay at the Arlington or the Park, but one week in advance the Arlington was full and the Park required a two day stay, and we only wanted to stay Friday night, so I chose the Happy Hollow based on it's location and the mostly positive trip advisor reviews.. I was not dissapointed.

The lady I had reserved the room with over the phone was the same one who turned on the light in the motel office when we pulled in late at night in the rain. At first glance it looked a little creepy, but after we walked around a little we realized that it was actually well kept and had a very inhabited and friendly look.

The manager was very nice, she gave us a little care package when we checked in that included a little debby snack, a plastic sandwich bag full of coffee, some maps, and some really good bon-bons, and a post-card for the Motel.

Where most hotels (even ones with kitchens) are mostly an empty box, this one is less standard; there were glass block windows inside the walk-in closet, and the kitchen was pretty much fully functional including having a few pots and pans and even a potato masher (they also have rooms with no kitchens). They also loaned us a movie to watch on VHS tape.

Overall we came away with a really good feeling about the Happy Hollow. If you're used to very new or fancy hotels this place might not be for you, but it really is a neat and refreshingly different place, and I can't imagine a better place to stay in downtown Hot Springs, and for a very reasonable price too.

  • Liked — It seems secluded although it is only a very short walk from the large downtown hotels.
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virtualdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

The original owners were a nice old couple who actually cared about the hotel and who stayed there. Too bad now the current owner of this hotel doesn't carry on where they left off. The hotel obviously hasn't been taken care of as well and neither have the customers. This hotel advertises in all tourist brochures as being a pet friendly motel. I made reservations for my wife and I well in advance and also asked about a pet deposit fee. I was then told there was a I believe it was a $10.00 deposit fee per night for our cat. I agreed to this and made the reservations. After we drove from thousands of miles from Canada to Hot Springs for our vacation in the heat of the summer, we were exhausted by the time we got there, overheated and turned away because of our cat. We weren't only turned away but the woman that was running the place screamed at me and had a major attitude problem about us having a cat with us. She then slammed the door to the lobby in my face. I then knocked on the door and asked her what the problem was and reminded her that I agreed when making reservations to pay a pet deposit fee. We were exhausted, overheated, and turned away. This woman doesn't care about the hotel or her customers. In a friendly city such as Hot Springs, you can do better. Look elsewhere when making your hotel reservations.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed January 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank tikisurfgod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#5 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
#27 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
3.7 mi away
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
4.1 mi away
Courtyard Hot Springs
Courtyard Hot Springs
#6 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Hollow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hollow Motel

Property: Happy Hollow Motel
Address: 231 Fountain St, Hot Springs, AR 71901-3520
Location: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Happy Hollow Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Happy Hollow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Happy Hollow Hotel Hot Springs
Happy Hollow Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing