We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Springs Hotel & Spa
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the historical hotel next store and were very disappointed - cracks in the walls, bathrooms tight and old. So decided to change to The Spring Hotel and Spa for the last night. The staff were very friendly, rooms have been updated and are very clean and the location couldn't be better. If you stay in the rooms facing the park you will also have a wonderful view.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Thank you for your kind review. Our employees are very friendly and try to make sure all our guests are made welcome and arre comfortable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (394)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 394 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when we went to the Horse Races in Hot Springs. So conveniently located right in the heart of downtown. They had a shuttle for you if you needed a ride and the people were very nice and friendly. The rooms were older but you have to realize that this is an old hotel and I don't look at it as old I look at it as a place with a lot of character. If you want modern then stay at a Hilton but to me it was just great. Go to the museum and learn about Hot Springs it is well worth it and it will make you know why this place is a wonderful place to visit. The boutique in the lobby was wonderful. It is a wonderful place to stay and it is very affordable.

Room Tip: One view overlooks the downtown area and the back side is the mountains. Both were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We hope to see you aigain next year and we thank you for your nice review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

All the negative reviews are exactly right. This hotel is old, decrepit, poorly maintained and way overpriced. The view out the back balcony was a concrete covered, eroding eye sore rock wall.
Only once was there adequate hot water for a shower. Worst hotel experience I can remember.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
Thank ecoledo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We apologise to this guest on the hot water problem. Which we did get fixed. We're sorry these guests found us over-priced even though they were given a special group rate. Our hotel property is older, but it is well maintained & the "rock wall" is the side of a mountain...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

It's an ok hotel in a good location just don't expect it to be like a shiny new penny, she's showing some wear and tear with age. We were on the 6th floor, I was a bit surprised to have so much road noise. I would advise to stay on the highest floor available. The restaurant and the bar are closed so no breakfast in the morning inside the hotel and no night cap at the bar.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

If you have a room on the street side you will have road noise - and yes if you're up higher you may not hear it as much-
The restaurant & bar are not leased out at this time; but there are some great restaurants and pubs/bars within walking distance to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I wanted to stay downtown or convience of walking and convention center. The room smelled horrible....it smelled like someone had puked in the corner and left it do dry. I told the housekeeping and she brought me a bottle of lysol...LOL When i called i reserved a balcony with a view o the street and got there and had a view of back parking lot....which was located on top of mt. everest..so it seemed as we climbed it every day we were there..Parking needs improvemt!!!! ridiculous!!! they offered internet but never was able to connect at any time..and the bathroom sink was stopped up...had to brush teeth in the bathtub! called front office for management to complain and they told me management wouldnt be back till monday..a day after we left..the worker hung up on me also! LOL I wont be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ragz05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Sorry these guests had problems with their stay. This is a National Park and there are mountains all around, so yes you will have to walk up to our parking lots behind the hotel; we cannot move the mountain...
We also did not have any WIFI problems.
Rearding the blocked sink, if one had called the front desk they wouold have sent a maintenance tech to take care of that problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel "under previous ownership" for 5+ years and always had an acceptable stay. This time 4-5-13 thru 4-8-13 was the worst travel experience we've had.
specifically:
1. NO hot water - their explanation was they'd rent 90% of their rooms and it wasn't their fault.

2. excess noise after 10:30 pm

3. Wi - Fi off more often than on

4. poor housekeeping

5. no front desk service after 8 pm

6 no manager on duty after 5 pm or Saturday & Sunday

7. the desk service was flippant and rude.

8. Vending machines were out of order.

9. on site restaurant was closed.

10 beds were worn out and uncomfortable.

11 overall decor was shabby (peeling paint, stained carpets, peeling wallpaper)

12. TV was CRT and quality unacceptable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 685JackT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Addressing the issues:

1. We do apologize about the hot water problem. The Pump in the boiler went down, our maintenance crew worked on it only for it to go out again - we had to order a new motor...
2. This is a hotel, we're not responsible for guest or traffic noise from the street.
3. We didn't have a problem with the WIFI, some devices need more than a password.
4. We have a good housekeeping dept.
5. Our front desk is manned 24/7
6. No comment...
7. We apologize if any of our staff seemed rude-they are ususally very helpful & friendly.
8. There are vending machines on every floor, the only one not working was the new machine installled a few days before & the vending company was waiting for a new computer part to come in & be installed due to damage at installation.
9. Our restaurant & bar is closed at this time until we lease the space out again.
10. We have sealy pillowtop mattresses - approx. 4yrs old.
11 & 12. No more comments - these guests had more that enough complaints - but they still stayed for the full 3 nights...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I have been to Hot Springs many, many times. We have stayed in other hotels and we love our Hot Springs weekends. This year, a group of us decided to go for the weekend and bring our teenage kids to the horse races for the first time. In all, there were 14 of us. We had six rooms on the 5th floor. The rooms were fine--exactly what we expected for a hotel of this age and price range. While the shower wasn't very hot, it was basically what you get in a house with teenagers. It definitely didnt ruin my stay or my weekend. The real surprise was the comfort of the beds. We prefer to stay in Mariott Hotels when we travel because the beds are awesome. This bed was every bit as comfortable! The staff was also very friendly and, overall, our stay was great. If you are realistic in your expectations of a $109/night hotel in the middle of the "action" that is Hot Springs, you will be happy with this hotel. We did not eat at the hotel restaurant (not sure if it was even open) because we have certain places we love to eat when we are in town. We will be staying there next year and we will bring more friends with us!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginiawilliams, Manager at The Springs Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

We are glad you & your group stayed with us & had a great time at the Oaklawn House Races. We appreciate your nice comments and look forward to you staying with us again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
#32 of 45 in Hot Springs
280 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#4 of 45 in Hot Springs
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
Red Roof Inn Hot Springs
#26 of 45 in Hot Springs
198 reviews
6.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Hot Springs
4.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Springs Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Springs Hotel & Spa

Address: 135 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71901-3529
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range: $63 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Springs Hotel & Spa 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Springs Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Springs Hotel Hot Springs
The Springs Hotel And Spa
Springs Hotel Hot
Downtowner Hotel Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing