We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Family Day Out Lunch 02/2012”
Review of The Porterhouse

The Porterhouse
Ranked #43 of 274 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
blissville, vermont
1 review
“Our Family Day Out Lunch 02/2012”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We moved here to Hot Springs and so we get to play tourist and we finally decided to stroll downtown and check out all the different things that people come here for and well we Love Steak there are 5 of us in our happy family well of course "the parents" order the Steak for 2 The Teenager gets his own Steak and the little lady and the baby boy order off the kids menu the Service is EXCELLENT every time that we go in the ATMOSPHERE is VERY RELAXING I mean did you notice we take a 16,11, and an 8 yr old here the staff makes us all feel Very Welcome and the FOOD is AMAZING the portions well lets say this I was able to request a to go box and we were all able to have left overs later .....we are having alot of Family and friends come in this November and we are going to take them here and I suggest if you come to visit you eat here too WELL worth the money it is one of our most visited places to eat with the kids and mmmmmmmm mmmmmm

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindamarie4207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    81
    62
    32
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“We loved it”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This place is a steakhouse but we both had seafood and really enjoyed both dishes. The fish was fresh and prepared very well. The service was good. Probably a little pricey for Hot Springs. We have made many trips to the area and always make an effort to dine here, and so far not disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Definitely a MUST!”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our first visit to the Porterhouse was right after Christmas 2012. We absolutely fell in love with the place. We were a little nervous to walk in because it appeared we weren't dressed properly for dinner. Just regular street clothes from riding the Harley all day. Let me tell you we were greated with open arms. The staff, food, environment was fabulous, warm, inviting, just an overall wonderful experience. So much so that when we left we both agreed if we decided to come back to Hot Springs and get married we would use this location for the reception. Guess what.....wedding is in 2 months and our decision to use the Porterhouse was the absolute best decision we have made thus far. Penny is an absolute dream to work with, our tasting was out of this world, I have not had to worry about one single detail. I coordinate parties all the time for my company and let me tell you on a personal level it is so much more stressful......no open checkbook here. :( Penny has helped us see where we will get the best bang for our buck and still have a fancy, elegant, and beautiful wedding reception. Thank you to everyone at the Porterhouse and most especially Penny! See you all in a few months!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilB62913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lufkin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Buffet”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We usually eat at The Arlington for our Thanksgiving meal when we're in Hot Springs, but this year we decided to try The Porterhouse. First, they lost our reservation and almost didn't seat us. The food was good, but not great. The same can be said for the selection of food. The desserts table was sad. I will say that my husband did love the prime rib. Overall, The Arlington is worth the little bit more expense.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank green_eyed_mommy_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“For Hot Springs the place is great”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The service was excellent and the food was fine. Best steak house I've tried in Hot Springs, a town not known for fine dining. If you want a good steak, good bottle of wine and good atmosphere this is the place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tkaplan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Porterhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Porterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing