We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty”
Review of The Porterhouse

The Porterhouse
Ranked #43 of 273 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Price range: $9 - $45
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Central Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very tasty”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We came here on a whim (and after checking some reviews online). This place gets mixed reviews, but we were more than impressed. The people were all nice, there is a lot of staff, but they all work together and get food out at appropriate times. My husband and I ordered the porterhouse special for two. It was about the same price as ordering two filets and had over 50 oz of meat. We knew we wouldn't eat it all, but figured we would have leftovers for a couple of days. The meal was a crab and portabello appetizer. It was pretty good, even though neither of us really like mushrooms or seafood, but we tried it. They had bread and this wonderful pesto dipping sauce. It was very good! The meal was two baked potatoes, mixed veggies, two or three filet mingons, a new york strip and a porterhouse along with two baby lamb chops. It was all very good and cooked well. We were impressed and would go back. The wait staff was great, our drinks were filled and we were checked on just enough. Good place to try. The atmosphere was neat too, very welcoming inside.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJ2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    80
    63
    34
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Surprisingly great value”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Excellent atmosphere, great food, and surprisingly affordable for a steakhouse. My husband and I ordered the special for that evening which was a ribeye for $12.95. The steak was tender and delicious but was huge and neither of us could finish it. The sides were excellent but the service was just a tad bit slow, but really not bad. Don't let that fool you, the atmosphere was upscale like an expensive restaurant. Loved this place and highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“it made the long drive to Hot Springs worthwhile”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I've beeen to most of the great steakhouses in this country: Luger's, Rainwater, Del Frisco's, Metroplotan Grill, etc. This place is NOT one of those. HOWEVER, it was simply wonderful. We had a 4 hour drive to Hot Springs and just wanted a nice meal with good service in a clean and comfortable atmosphere. We got all we wanted. We caught a Tuesday night special and for under $20, there was tons of food. The steak was seasoned nicely, NO grissle, nice size, 2 vegetable sides, baked potato. It was delicious. The avocado dressing for the salad was excellent. The waiter brought by some freshly cut chives and REAL cut bacon (not the processed bits from a jar) for the potatoes.
But what made this special was the down home service. The staff was young and unseasoned but still very professional and they made you feel like they were glad you were there.
The atmosphere is NOT of the mahogony walled mens' clubs but still homey. It was slow the night (Tuesday) we were there so I can't speak of the service on a really busy night but we had NO complaints and would go back if we get back to Hot Springs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JTaol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hewitt, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We attended a wedding rehearsal dinner at the Porterhouse Steak and Seafood Restaurant. It is located in the downtown historic district. The atmosphere is wonderful; very vintage and romantic. The food and service was excellent!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bumamabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, ms
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Rehearsal Dinners”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My son was married in Hot Springs in August 2012. We made a trip up to search for a room to hold the rehearsal dinner and sample and the local fare. Upon recommendation of the locals we dined at Belle Arte and were swept away by everything. Speaking to the management, we learned that the “Speakeasy” room at the Porterhouse was available the night we needed it. The Porterhouse is a sister restaurant to the Belle Arte was just next door. We met with “Penny” and settled everything that afternoon.
Penny took it from there and we arrived to enjoy a delicious, worry free meal. The room was grand, the service excellent, the cost was very reasonable. My wife is disabled and not able to attend to the miscellaneous details associated with such an event. She need not worry. What a pleasure and we had a wonderful time.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Porterhouse also viewed

 

Been to The Porterhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing