We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST PLACE TO STAY”
Review of Knotty & Nice B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hot Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Knotty & Nice B&B
Ranked #10 of 19 Hot Springs B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Knotty & Nice B&B...where do I begin? Pictures are deceiving...go somewhere else...somewhere where u dont have to drive 30 minutes to get to the nearest store or to see the rest of the town!!!

When we first got there...everything seemed good. They took us and showed us where we would be staying and all the rooms and then the tables turned. We had to take our own towels, could not use the washer and dryer, the water smelled like fish...(you know its bad when the owners dont even use it...the man went down the road and filled water jugs). We swam the first night, not knowing we were being watched...he had cameras set up. The second night, we could not swim..he turned off all lights, even the onces leading to our cabin; we had to use our phones. We rented three of the cabins and decided to have the party in the Timberland cabin since it was off to itsself and away from the owners...when one of the guest went back to her cabin to sleep...around one a.m., the man walked in on her..he has no business in the cabins when there are guest in the cabins. The morning after the party, he woke up some of the guest talking about shrimp peels from the shrimp boil and throw up...on the ground...outside. Went to town, only to come back to see he had been back in our cabins. They are way over priced...they tell u one price but when u get there...its like they triple charge you. I would not recommend this place to anyone....not even a dog....might kill them for peeing on a tree or something.

Room Tip: Dont go to Knotty and Nice!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Apiphinee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnottyandNice, Owner at Knotty & Nice B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

The cabin is exactly as it was on our website. There were problems from the beginning. When they first arrived they told us that someone in their party had car problems and 3 of the 15 guests would not be able to make it because they could not afford it. We expect our guests to pay for their cabins prior to checking in and we requested for them to do the same; however, they had several excuses why they didn't have all of the money. Eventually, they did pay the balance due with the exception of the 3 guests that did not come (but they really did come). However, once they checked in and got situated, more & more people began showing up. When we questioned them about it they got very offended. They were having a graduation dinner for their niece and they had family who live in Hot Springs and they said they would only be there for a couple of hours, so we agreed. Well it ended up being a big party and they partied until 3:00 AM with no regard for our other guests. On 2 occasions we requested that the people who did not pay to stay needed to leave; however, they just ignored us. The next day (Sunday) they cooked collard greens which made the whole house smell like sewer. There is nothing wrong with our water. Since we have a well, we get water from Hot Springs to fill the pool & also drink because it is spring water; however, we use our water in our house for everything. Someone was swimming in the pool and broke the pipe that operates the pump and never informed us and almost burned up the pump. We noticed that the water was not working in the pool and went to question what had happened however no one seemed to know. That is the reason they could not swim the next day (Sunday). We needed to go to town and purchase piping to fix it. Again, there were at least 30 people outside, smoking everywhere & throwing their cigarette butts all over the yard.. They were not happy because they created a nightmare for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 45 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

My family booked 3 of the cabins for the weekend and we spent so much time listening to the owners complain, we wasted have our trip. The cabins are lovely but please beware the owners are terrible. They have cameras hidden, and we know there's hidden microphones also, because the owner would comment on private conversations: he told my (cousin no sex for you last night huh, straight to sleep)@ dat shook them because that's exactly what happened. It made everyone feel so uncomfortable , we were scared to sleep and bathe. The water smells like a sewer so we had to go buy several jugs. He walked in our cabin at 1:00 in the morning without knocking saying( he was checking the air conditioner)that was disrespectful. I told him he should have at least called my phone to have us check it and knocked.no privacy, they walk in on you all during the day and when your out side the stand and watch you.this was not a vacation for us it was more of a horror movie.we will never ever go back. We told him to refund us on the second day and he said ( no no im sorry don't leave, i want you to have fun) amd he still didn't change. They will turn the outside light's off when they want to making it impossible to sit outside, cause you couldn't see. They have one washer and dryer in the timberland cottage with a sign on it extra charge if you use, im like really we done paid you almost 2,000 dollars and we have to pay to wash. They also turned the electricty off on the stoves, when they wanted too.Our first trip at a cabin and they made it our worst.my advice to all find another cabin or hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mzpeaches1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnottyandNice, Owner at Knotty & Nice B&B, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2012

First of all I would like to comment on the "cameras & microphones". We do not have any cameras or microphones in the cabins (it is against the law). We do have security cameras outside for your protection as well as ours. No one ever commented on anyones conversations unless they were conversations with us. We have many cabins and don't have the time. We are professional people and would never make any comment about someone having sex. That is an insult. We really don't care if you have sex our not. They requested a refund after they had partied all night and were ready to leave once they messed up the pool. We never apologized for the nightmare they caused. We left the lights on all night long and when I got up in the morning I turned them off. It is an additional charge to use the washer & dryer; however, they never even asked to use it. If they paid $2,000.00 I don't know who they paid it to. There total charge for 2 nights was $1,200.00 for "15" people for 3 cabins. They should have been charged $2,000.00 for the total of 30 people that came to party all night. No electricity was not shut off to the stoves. They cooked for their party and they cooked the next day. No problems with the electricity. All of these comments are false accusations and can be considered slander. We have contacted our lawyer regarding this matter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Every year my family visits Hot Springs, Ar for our family vacation. Normally, we stay at Lake Catherine State Park (A MUST STAY), but this year we waited too late to make our reservation. We ended up finding Knotty and Nice cabins, and believed because of the pictures on the internet, it would be a great place to stay. WRONG. First the pictures are very deceiving. We chose the Sunset Grand. From the pictures, it seems like we are suppose to have access to stairs within the cabin..not so. Then the rooms appear to be spread out and a nice size..not so. Second the air conditioning does NOT work. The owner tried to fix it everyday, yet we suffered everyday because of the heat. The temperature in the cabin was ALWAYS 80 degress and above, although the unit was set to 70 degrees. Third, the fridge wasn't working properly. WE bought enough food for 6 days, and by the morning after we made it, several packs of meat spoiled because the freezer never worked. THe freezer also never made ice. The owner ended up having to go and buy a deep freezer for us to put our groceries in. We still tried to make the best of our experience. THEN I was cooking breakfast-I had the oven on and 2 top burners, and ALL OF THE ELECTRICITY in the cabin shut off. I went to the owners and told them we paid too much money to have all the problems we were having. If they couldn't get it fixed we wanted our money back and we would find somewhere else to stay. They finally got the electricity working, but with various restrictions. To top off our experience, the owner (the man) had some complaint everyday for us. Either we couldn't park in a certain place, or we had to be in the cabin at a certain time (and he turned the lights off every night so we couldn't be outside), or we couldn't use the hot tub because other guest were coming and requested to use it. It was horrible. We paid $2300.00, and were treated horribly. I wouldn't recommend this place to ANYONE. I have read other reviews and I'm surprised about the ones that said they enjoyed it. My family is basically a easy going group of people, and can pretty much turn any bad situation into good. Not so for this place. I would suggest going to Lake Catherine State Park to anyone. You will not have these problems, and its less expensive with nicer amenities and nicer cabins. The best part of this experience was the pool (but he never filled it up; in fact the morning we were preparing to leave is when we saw him filling the pool). A truly horrible experience.

Room Tip: Don't chose to stay at Knotty and Nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tasha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

First, I would like to comment that no one has access to the second floor because we live on the second floor of the Cabin. The Sunset Grand Cabin was only for the 1st floor - 4 bedrooms & 2 bathrooms, kitchen & living area. It accommodated up to 8 people. Tthey originally booked for 6 people but when they arrived their were 10 people. We do have a daybed in the living area so we had accommodations for the extra people. They stayed 6 nights and partied every night until 1:00 or 2:00 PM. That;s fine for the weekends; however, every night was a bit much when we had other guests staying here who came here to relax. The A/C froze up a couple of nights because they turned the temperature down to 58 degrees in 100 degree temperatures and left the door open quite often. We have since installed additional ceiling fans in the 2 smaller bedrooms that did not have fans. We have smoking areas provided with ash trays outside of each cabin; however, they smoked everywhere and threw their cigarette butts all over the yard, pool & spa area. We have a large capacity refrigerator; however, it was too full of food & beer. We bought a small freezer thinking they were going to put their food in it - no they put tupperware bowls full of water to make extra ice. There was a problem with the electricity for the stove - originally there was only a cook top and the wiring was adequate for that; however, once we installed a complete stove/oven we were not aware that it couldn't handle the extra voltage/watts. We have completely replaced the wiring for the stove/oven. We normally close the pool/spa area around 10:00 PM; however, they ask us to leave it open a little later (untill 1:00 AM most nights) and we did accommodate their wishes. We did have other guests and yes they do share the pool/spa area, as advertised on our website. Each cabin has at least 1 jacuzzi in it for their privacy. We try to make all of our guests happy and do everything we can to accommodate everyone's needs/wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I visited Hot Springs in February 2012 for the first time and I found Knotty and Nice Bed and Breakfast by googling cabins in Arkansas. I viewed pictures of the cabins and the Sunrise Cabin was my favorite so I booked it immediately. Once we got into Hot Springs and we arrived to where the cabins were we were a little nervous and borderline upset because we thought it was not what we expected. The owners took us to our cabins and IT WAS ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL. The cabin was EXACTLY like it was in the pictures. The cabin was extremely clean and spotless. We were very pleased with the cabin and we were pleased with the wonderful and friendly treatment that we received from the owners! The Sunrise Cabin is a must stay!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We came to k-n for our honeymoon. We chose this place simply bc we looked at alot more places but this place was beautiful and a good price. In person beautiful wasn't the word to describe it. We got there really late and Art showed us everything and was super nice. We chose to stay in the guest suite which states on the website its inside their home. We had alot of privacy and enjoyed everything about it. The room was fabulous and so nice. The owners Art/Karen were very friendly and had such good hospitality. The decorations were very pretty, bed was comfortable, location was great, and the price was wonderful. If there are any bad reviews i don't understand why bc we can't wait to come back!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kristin_sims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

I can not express the disappointment experienced when my boyfriend and I pulled up to the "Knotty and Nice" for our weekend stay. The whole basis of our trip was to have privacy and alone time. When my boyfriend called to get information regarding the cabin, he was told "you can walk out on the porch and do a 360 and you won’t see anything but trees". Not the case!! The cabin is right off the highway and 20 feet away from the owner’s home. We were told it was very private and secluded. Again, not the case. The website indicates there is a hot tub (weather permitting) but fails to include that the hot tub is on the owner’s porch with no privacy. The cabin itself was nice and clean but just not what we were expecting or led to believe. We paid for 2 nights but left after the first. If you decide to stay, make sure you bring ice because the icemaker does not work.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2011

My husband and I had a great time! It was so relaxing and quiet. What we enjoyed the most was that was sylish but not fussy as some B&B's can be. The bed was fabulous, sooo very comfortable! We stayed in the bunglow which had a private entrance. The room decor was stylish yet comfortable. We did not hear any traffic from the road. We enjoyed the hot tub, swimming pool and listening to nature. We got to look at several other cabins which were also quite nice and spacious. The owners were great, very hospitable and we enjoyed the converstation at breakfast. We would love to visit again maybe in the winter because it was so cozy!

Room Tip: we saw several rooms and all were quite nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonny044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
10.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
6.6 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#14 of 45 in Hot Springs
106 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hot Springs
13.4 mi away
Hilltop Manor Bed & Breakfast
Hilltop Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 19 in Hot Springs
404 reviews
5.7 mi away
Long Island Lake Resort
Long Island Lake Resort
#7 of 19 in Hot Springs
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knotty & Nice B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knotty & Nice B&B

Address: 7200 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71913-7851
Location: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Hot Springs
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing