We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Brunch”

Windows on the Park
Ranked #136 of 273 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunday Brunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

We ate here on Mother's Day 2014. As Sunday Brunches go, it was pretty good. The prime rib was very good, our waiter was attentive, all the salads and usual suspects were present. The pianist was very enjoyable, and added greatly to the morning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mondello5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NW AR
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Another great visit!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We try and make it here once a year for the races & the Arlington Friday night seafood buffet & as usual everything was very nice. Buffet was nicely presented with fresh fruits, salad, cheeses & nice variety of baked/fried seafood items. Oysters on the half shell & steamed crab legs were good & were replenished promptly. Table with fresh flowers in small vase by the window with park view made it even nicer! Keep up the good work!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PNKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
xxx
Level Contributor
557 reviews
316 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 920 helpful votes
“Almost 4 stars with rooms for improvement”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our short trip to Hot Springs somehow needed to modify after our beloved, immature president and congress kids shut down the highway through the national park. So, we can not go to highly rated home cooking place "Home Plate." When we review the options available in town, Sunday brunch at this place came up because most places are either chained restaurants or serving fast food.

Good:
- The hotel is a beautiful place and Venetian Dining Room still has old charm. Servers are quite attentive (although it is buffet, so good tips suggested) serving special tea bags etc.
- Soothing piano live music played most of the brunch hour (I think pianist left 45-60 mins before it is closed). Ok music but I'm not really a great fan of his interpretation.
- Huge selection of food; beautifully decorated salad bar with one big fish (raw), interesting choices of European dishes (e.g. Beef Bourguignon) and quite extensive breakfast goodies also available. There is a separate section dedicated to donut and it is a kind of fun mixing your plain donut over different sugar(s), sprinkles and some sticky liquid. There is also a section for some premier items such as raw oysters, shrimp cocktail and prime rib together with omelet station. A separate section for dessert and cakes also available (will discuss). So by just looking at above items plus live music, ambience and my waiter, a price tag of $25/person seems justifiable, especially in a quite remote place like this.

Okay:
- Cakes and desserts offer multiple selections and cakes do not taste cheap-sweet. But most of them are a bit too dry. But Southern specialites like pies and apple crumbles are quite good.
- Some food either need to change with fresher, hotter ones or need to make buffet stand still warm and fresh somehow. Again it should not be a big deal, may be sent their chef to some famous buffet places in Vegas to learn. For example, presprinkled donut was in pretty bad shape and so stick with a plain one and built yourself from there.

Thing could improve:
- Low energy of some staff: pianist left early and some staff from curving station followed while customers were eating. Some were more eager to clean up things and go home early and since there was nobody at prime rib station at 12:30pm for brunch, manager/Maitre' d needed to cut for me. What a shame! That is the main thing needing urgent improvement and this could also the root cause for problems described on "okay" section.

Overall, we were quite happy with what we could get in this situation. Although hotel management uses good food ingredients, this brunch buffet is nowhere near "A" list buffet places like "Broadmoor" resort in Colorado Springs or Vegas buffet heaven like those from Wynn and Ballegio. For example, Broadmoor literally starts preparing for next Sunday Brunch every Monday and their pianist plays beautiful music while reading great arrangements from ipad. Still it is a decent place to fill your stomach rather than paying almost the same for junk food like burgers, fries and drinks elsewhere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigboy61455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Great food, nice ambiance.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Loved it here! The sea bass is excellent and the service is top notch. It's really a treat if they have the pianist there. It's not cheap, but it's relaxing and memorable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nora1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Is it called this?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed at the hotel. Didn't see anything called Windows on the Park - just the Venetian Room. Service was horrible, food passable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SBC8605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windows on the Park also viewed

 

Been to Windows on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing