We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just another place to go.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Josephine Tussauds Wax Museum

Josephine Tussauds Wax Museum
Ranked #34 of 72 things to do in Hot Springs
Attraction details
Ruston, Louisiana
Level Contributor
106 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Just another place to go.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Was not overly impressed with this place. Old and drab. In need of some TLC. Went because my mom likes these kind of places when we are on a trip and she was not that impressed either. Want be going again unless there is much improvement.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Vickie60_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    62
    48
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Floral, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs updating”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

The cashier was rude to us as well as the customers in front of us. We had closed bags of popcorn from a store down the street which we had to leave at the front counter, but yet were allowed to take our bottle waters in the museum -- that didn't make sense to me. Many of the plaques were faded to the point you could not read them and lighting was not good. The museum needs some updating.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karmen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old and out dated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have been several times before while growing up. Not much has changed that I recall. The exhibits appear very old and not kept up. There is a new set of exhibits that focus on the organized crime days of Hot Springs that is new since I last visited. My kids favorite part was buying toy guns in the gift shop.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Save your money!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

This place was terrible! It only takes maybe thirty minutes to go through and that is if you are stopping and reading a few things. Nothing looked very realistic. For the same price we went to MidAmerica which was great and we spent hours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Akwdww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Really CREEPY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

I love stuff like this so I thought it was cool and creepy. There are wax figures in the windows before you even go in. One figure is of the owner. Underneath her it explains that all the wax figures have real human hair. A lot of these wax figures are pretty old as you can tell that they are dated. You walk up stairs in the beginning of the tour. Figures are on the right side as you are walking up. When you look up there is Jesus on the cross and underneath him there is the table of the last supper. You take a left and there is a small hallway with 4 figures. You will go to the left and enter the hall of horror.. you can take a right if you want to skip that. Next will be the hall of presidents and history. At the end there will be Elvis and to the left will be a little room showing a bathroom from the original casino. Downstairs and make believe land. Which is Cinderella, Rumpelstiltskin which is the creepiest of ALL!! Then Alice and Wonderland, Pinocchio, and then you see Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs. To the left is the bigger Casino museum. After you get out of the wax museum and enter the gift shop there is a small door on the right and that is the tunnel Al Capone used to escape to the Arlington Hotel. You can ask one of the attendants and they will show you.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Josephine Tussauds Wax Museum also viewed

 

Been to Josephine Tussauds Wax Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing