We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average food and service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picante's Mexican Grill

Picante's Mexican Grill
Ranked #87 of 269 Restaurants in Hot Springs
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: (501) 623-2300
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Underwhelmed at the service and food. Probably won't return if in the area. Jalapeño poppers were grocery store variety. The margaritas contain an additive that doesn't agree with my stomach.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank SLM2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    38
    22
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good service, but low food quality”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

I went to Picante's for lunch because Subway was simply too crowded. The chips were great, but the 'salsa' tasted like and had the consistency of a spiced ketchup. I ordered a chicken enchilada with rice and beans. The enchilada was okay, but I'd never been served rice like this before. The rice was mixed with diced carrots, Lima beans, and more.. It was not very appetizing. Also the beans were disappointing. As I tried to check out, they had a problem with the register - not their fault - but caused a delay. Eventually one of the guys working on it, took out his wallet and gave me change out of his wallet.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I cannot stress enough how amazing the staff was! We have a very picky eater in our group who does not like Mexican food and our server made him up a special grilled chicken meal. The margaritas were wonderful as well.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go Razorback!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

The Razorback Special is delicious and I make two meals out of the serving size. The price is right and they are quick to get the food on the table. It is a "go to" spot for our office outings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tbspavins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a hidden jewel ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We were going to the German restaurant that has changed names and owners. So we decided to check out the New Mexican restaurant. What a great idea this was. Th service was fast and caring. The food was the best Mexican I have had in long time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Clayton AndStef... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picante's Mexican Grill also viewed

 

Been to Picante's Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing