We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fall Foliage Tour Hwy 88E, Mena/Hot Springs, AR” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ouachita National Forest

Ouachita National Forest
Ranked #18 of 72 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This huge forest consists of 1.7 million acres of mountainous terrain in western Arkansas and eastern Oklahoma.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fall Foliage Tour Hwy 88E, Mena/Hot Springs, AR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Absolutely beautiful route to take to see the fall foliage in early November from Mena to Hot Springs. Did this the day after we did the Talimena Scenic Byway foliage tour and Queen Willamena Park tour. Outstanding color this year 2012 and very little traffic for a beautiful Sunday morning drive. Definitely will allow more time next time to visit some of the Lake Quachita sights along the way to Hot Springs.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    35
    7
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mena, AR
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Trees, Rolling terrain, Trails, Scenic overlooks - AHHHH!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you like the outdoors you will love the Ouachita (wash - i - tah) National Forest! There are hiking trails, mountain bicycle trails, Geocacheing, scenic drive with overlooks, camping, cabin & lodge accommodations (for those who don't want to rough it too badly), hunting, nature watching - it's just wonderful!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank D0X1E5RULE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
155 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Yor're on your own - beware!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have to echo the last review. The drive is gravel and dirt road for miles and miles. No cell coverage, and little traffic. I was worried the entire time that, if something happened to us, whether foul play or accidental, we might not be found for days or weeks, if ever. The falls were low due to the drought, which made it all a disappointment. Once there, one could see how, with water flow and good weather, it could be spectacular, but I wouldn't ever recommend the dive to a friend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travel2802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Love Hot Springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Enjoy the bathhouses then have a cool drink sitting on the balcony at the Arlington Hotel. If it's too hot, visit Lake Hamilton, Lake Catherine or Lake Ouachita.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ARTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Family moment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Took a trip to this natianal forest and had a great time with my family. Beautiful and memorable. We found ourselves skipping rocks on the lake and it took us back to our childhood. This place has a special place in my heart.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlvaroMauricio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ouachita National Forest also viewed

 

Been to Ouachita National Forest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing