We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star rating - what a joke!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Resort on the Lake
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Hot Springs
GreenLeadersGold level
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“3 star rating - what a joke!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I cannot believe this place calls itself a resort. The inside of the room was so nasty I wanted to die. It is small, cramped, and hasn't been renovated since the early 70s.
The only highlight was that my kids liked the pool, which is place nicely on the lake. We liked looking at the geese.
I would never, ever stay here again. What a ripoff. They didn't even offer breakfast as part of the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    87
    74
    42
    29
See reviews for
96
105
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Longview Texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed three nights. The location was good, the view of the lake was really great, and it was easy to find; but overall, I was disappointed with the quality of this resort. The room was okay, but not worth the asking price. I only ate one meal in the restaurant. The food was ok. I did not like the atmosphere of the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_C_2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband & I were looking forward to a nice relaxing weekend at the Clarion on the Lake for the 4th of July weekend. Unfortunately, on Saturday the 5th the staff's families took over the hotel. Guests could not find a place at the pool all afternoon or into the evening since "families" had taken over, "saved chairs/tables, etc" so that guests could not find a place to enjoy themselves. I have never seen so many people come in the "back way" and take over the pool, picnic table, playground, etc. I understand the concept of "employee perks" but not at the cost of paying guests, at $150.00/night! The parking was also out of control and completely unregulated-even though they gave out "permits" most of the cars/trucks/boats were not guests of the hotel. What should have been a great getaway was, unfortunately, not.

Room Tip: Don't go during holiday's, but if you do get a room that faces the lake away from the elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myrestaurantreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hot Springs hotels

Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was very nice. Staff helpful and friendly. Pool was great. The food was very good. The view from my balcony was wonderful. There is a fitness center. You can also go to a place to rent a boat. We had a great time on Lake Hamilton.

Room Tip: Get a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

For such a high priced hotel I thought it might discourage the intoxicated party cove lake-lovin' biker types. The hotel was crawling with them. It was bad enough they brought their intoxicated party to the room next door, but we had to endure their barking dog all night and the cigarette smoke sifting through the HVAC, from a supposed non-smoking room. It would have been futile to complain, for fear of reprisals. Pretty rough crowd. Also, do you want to eat in a hotel restaurant where the servers smoke their filthy cigarettes out front? This place has zero class. The room was mostly clean and the bathroom was clean and updated.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kcmo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horseshoe Bend, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'm a smoker and got a smoking room. I could hardly tolerate the odor in the room. First thing we did was went shopping for disinfectant spray and doused the room to make it somewhat better. Hallways were dirty, room had booze bottles and cigarette butts behind dressers, and smoking room had no available ashtrays. Everything in the room felt wet to the touch. Room could use a thorough cleaning, at least one ashtray, and a dehumidifier. For $150 a night, I was disappointed. But, the view was good.

Room Tip: Bring disinfectant/deodorizing products if in a smoking room. Definitely get a lake-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

I stayed for 2 nights at the Clarion, and I have to say I loved it. Great view of the lake, friendly staff and no problems with my room. Would definetly stay again.


I swear when I was 12 (18 years ago) we stayed at the same hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasons_Travels01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JEFFERY R, Front Office Manager at Clarion Resort on the Lake, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Clarion on the Lake. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
3.0 mi away
Country Inn Lake Resort
Country Inn Lake Resort
#13 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
#5 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
2.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hot Springs
Candlewood Suites Hot Springs
#23 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Resort on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Resort on the Lake

Property: Clarion Resort on the Lake
Address: 4813 Central Ave, Hot Springs, AR 71913-7405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Resort on the Lake 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Resort on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Resort On The Lake Hotel Hot Springs
Clarion Resort Hot Springs
Clarion Hot Springs
Hot Springs Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing