We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm, poor hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Old world charm, poor hospitality”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a charming place but I will never return. The hotel is 75 years old and the room clearly showed it's age. We got a room with two adjoining rooms, one on each side. We clearly requested a single queen size bed but got two twin beds. I asked for a different room but was turned down due to capacity. My husband and I made the best of it and even though we were celebrating our anniversary we had to sleep in separate beds. To make things worse the noise level was horrible, we could hear EVERYTHING being said in both adjoining rooms. At 11:00 p.m. I finally called front desk and asked to switch but again got turned down. They said they would take care of the noise but at 1:00 a.m. it was still going on. The constant flushing of the toilet from upstairs sounded like a freight train. The door to the bathroom would not open or close unless we shoved it with our body. The shower had no water pressure and the shower head clearly needed some CLR. At check out I was asked how our visit was and I proceeded to tell the attendant everything, to which she replied "oh, well that happens". Not even an apology, needless to say, I'll never go back there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosaleimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
I am sorry we were unable to move you to a different room or quiet the individuals next door. I am also sorry we could not fulfill your request for a Queen or King size room due to capacity and you ended up in a room with two double beds.

Please accept my apologies for the condition of your room and lack of empathy on behalf of the front desk agent. There are no excuses.

Sincerely,

Bob Martorana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    465
    341
    255
    236
See reviews for
348
661
45
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owensboro, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This resort is the best of it's kind in sweet downtown Hot Springs. At the apex Central Ave, Athe Arlington rises majestically next to the mtn that supplies the thermal waters for this get-away. Come spend time taking the waters and relaxing at great restaurants, a new brew pub, and exploring sweet locally-owned retail shops. Their is also a thriving arts community with many galleries. Come and soak and relax your cares away.

Room Tip: Call and speak with the staff, they will cater to your every need!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandomWorldRambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is a historic hotel, not a not a modern recently build hotel. In its day it was five star. There is still a charm. The rooms, you still use a key to enter, are large. They have high ceilings. The beds are very comfortable. The bath features an old style tub, which is over size for the mineral water bath. The vanity is very small. The Sunday brunch is a must do. Good place for a couples weekend. Location is in the center of the historic district.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaginCajun1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I spent two amazing nights at the Arlington Hotel over Labor Day Weekend. We really enjoyed our stay. We enjoyed a mineral bath and massage. That was amazing you must do that if you are staying. Yes the hotel is old and does not have some of the amenities of the more modern chain hotels but the history in this place is amazing. We will stay here again. Also I would recommend the sunday brunch in the dinning room. Get a reservation and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at the Arlington. It is a magnificent old hotel. We enjoyed our stay there but did have a couple of issues. On day 3 of our stay we decided to use the coffee pot that was in the room. There was a moldy coffee pod in it from the last guest and the coffee pot was dirty!!
Sloppy housekeeping.... THEN on our 4th morning we were straightening up the desk type table next to the bed and found several large mouse droppings and were it had eaten on a nutty buddy bar.

We took pictures and went down to speak with a manager. She put us in a suite for our last night and I got 1 night taken off of our bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wadudda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you are on a bike and/or you'd just like to walk to everything in town ...this is THE place to stay. It was soooo much fun. We were on a motorcycle so we really wanted to walk up and down and see the shops, the bath houses, the park and more. It was old...yes. ... but our room was great, and the price was great as well. The staff couldn't have been better. Loved the nightly music and Friday & Saturday they had local dancing as in the cha cha, the rumba and the waltz as well. The Lobby Cafe serves an outstanding lunch. The veranda is 1/16th of a mile long and everyone loves just hanging out on the veranda. It is THE place to go on the weekend for sure.
The pool was fabulous as was the hot tub. We walked at least 10 miles just going all over with the hotel as a base. There is hiking right outside and across the street or just a pleasant stroll. The mountain xpress pics up right out front as does the horse drawn carriage. I would love to bring the family back here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I was disappointed by the condition of the hotel. There were a few things they could have done to make it more enjoyable, as in curtains were hanging all "askew" and holes in blackout shades. Very old airconditiong made it very uncomfortable. Bathroom door did not shut.
On the plus the side, the Staff was very nice and helpful. But I did feel like I was in a 30's Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers movie with the Lobby Bar, which was kind of fun. Modern Starbucks also in lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for a big room and check out A/C before you accept room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hot Springs hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#11 of 45 in Hot Springs
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
887 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
#6 of 45 in Hot Springs
474 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
#9 of 45 in Hot Springs
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: 239 Central Ave., Hot Springs, AR 71901
Location: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 484
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Resort Hotel And Spa
Arlington Hot Springs Arkansas
Arlington Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing