We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will NOT stay there again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Hot Springs
Carthage, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will NOT stay there again.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We just returned home from The Arlington today (July 7, 2013). When we checked in Friday things seemed to be alright, however, Saturday morning when we woke up the ceiling was leaking in the bathroom. We couldn't use the bathroom at all without getting dripped on. I called the front desk and they told us that they would find us a different room, FOUR HOURS later they FINALLY had us in a different room. I also paid cash for our room so I had to put down a $50 deposit and was told that I would get it back upon checking out. When I checked out this morning they tried to only give me part of it back, their reason was that TAXES had gone up since we checked in. The last time I checked there was no taxes on deposits. We had stayed at The Arlington 5 years ago and knew to expect the older feel, however, this time you could tell that they have not kept the place up. Also, we had chose The Lake Hamilton package which included breakfast each morning. The potatoes were very dried out and it was not all that good. WE WILL NOT stay at The Arlington again and I would NOT recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJBerry07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    445
    312
    249
    221
See reviews for
323
628
41
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

Sentimental journey to a lifelong favorite, the Arlington, for Labor Day weekend. Relaxed with Sunday brunch, spa massages, front porch reading, Saturday night combo in the lobby, archive cabinet displays. Area power outtage beyond hotel control made for a few sticky hours. Clean, comfortable vintage property with charm galore. Wonderful proximity to Bath House Row restaurants, shops, sights.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Arlington. Although the room we had initially reserved was not ready when we arrived, the hotel upgraded our room and gave us a discount! The new room had a wonderful view. You need to be able to appreciate the old character of the hotel and not expect modern furnishings. Our room was clean and nice. Our only complaint is with the pool which needs upgrading and to be taken care of better. The service and the food in the restaurant was excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of Central Avenue are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 67Dee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

If you stay here, please do so for the charm of the historic hotel and for the location. Otherwise, the mattress caved, the bedding was lumpy, the baseboards were dusty, & the walls were thin. We could hear everything in the halls & surrounding rooms. The Arlington could use updating. Giant closets!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEn225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paron
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband surprised me with the spa package for my birthday. The room was okay; old TV, old carpet, not very functional bathroom. The spa package was horrible for me. I knew something was wrong when the 20 minute bath turned into almost an hour. I was sweating so bad and could hardly breathe, then they tried to get me into the sauna (found out later to kill more time). When I finally got to the massage area, there were ladies still there waiting from when I first arrived that were very unhappy. They had been waiting for over an hour. The lady at the desk told me it would be "at least" two hours before I could get a massage. I was not going to sit in that waiting area wrapped in a sheet for two hours with a bunch of angry ladies. I opted for a refund. My husband was also getting the treatment and the cashier assured me she would send him to our room when he was finished. After waiting in our room by myself for about an hour and a half (on my birthday...) I went back down to the spa and there was a look of horror on her face. My husband had been waiting for ME in the spa; she forgot to tell him to go to the room. Totally messed up our plans for the afternoon. I did get a refund only for the massage portion but they acted like it was no big deal and didn't seem to care much about inconveniencing everyone. I would never book a spa session there on a Saturday again. Be careful with the elevators. One of them didn't have a safety feature when the doors closed, and a lady that realized she was about to miss her floor pretty much almost got stuck in the doors. Had it been a child, it would have been detrimental. Definitely not up to code. Also, we had the air on as low as it would go and it wasn't very cool in the room, even though the temperature outside was unusually low for that time of year.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a newer TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is an historic hotel in a great location. The lobby and bar area are interesting and fun. You can sit outside and watch the world go by. The hotel is within walking distance for most shops and bath houses. Truly a unique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxter97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Cool old hotel. If you like hotels the way they used to be this is a great place. Yes it is OLD, that's Why I stayed there, got to love old architecture!!! If you want a brand new Hotel experience go to a NEW Hotel. This place is a really neat place, with charm, character and pleasantries. Views were wonderful from both sides. We changed rooms because we didn't book in advance, no problem and we had two different but great views. Walk up to the pool area from floors 5 and 6 and walk through the cool pier and beam construction of the deck above. Pool is cool looking, Built into the side of the mountain, water falls from upper pool to shallow pool. Know that walking trails up the mountain are right beside the pools. Have time to explore. Didn't take the walk, this time. The air conditioning isn't the coldest, so check in early, go to room and turn on A/C as low as possible. If you plan to go to sleep before 10 pm on a night the band is playing, Don't get a room by the elevators. The music travels up the elevator shaft as if you were in front of the stage and rooms next to the elevator hear it all! Just saying. Out of pool towels on busy Friday's and Saturday nights.

Room Tip: The air conditioning isn't the coldest, so check in early, go to room and turn on A/C as low as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
The Hotel Hot Springs & Spa
#4 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
6.4 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 44 in Hot Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
#28 of 44 in Hot Springs
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
#5 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#18 of 44 in Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: 239 Central Ave., Hot Springs, AR 71901
Location: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 44 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 484
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon and Hotwire so you can book your Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Resort Hotel And Spa
Arlington Hot Springs Arkansas
Arlington Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing