We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, sad, so disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Horrible, sad, so disappointed”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've stayed here years ago, and have always loved to visit this beautiful hotel.. Our room was awful, I've never stayed in a worse room. the faucets in the bathroom had mold on them under the plastic. the bathroom is for someone 5' or under.. cigarett smoke was coming in from an adjoining room or stairway. it smelled like a wet dog. the hotel was in heat mode, so if you were hot you had to turn it off, it was still to hot, i got a nose bleed.. front desk was rude. our bellman was FANTASTIC, dinner was awful, 3 waiters and dinning room was 1/2 full. took 30 minutes to get water. It was so sad.... I would never recommed this hotel to any of my friends.

Room Tip: Stay at the Holiday Inn or another chain hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
There are no excuses fo any ceanliness issues with your room. The hotel has a variety of rooms with both large and small bathrooms. I was very surprised to read about the smoking since we went 100 % Non Smoking this past December with great response from our customers. With the changing weather it is difficult to change over from heating to cooling. Please accept my apologies for the rude front desk and lack of service in the restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    458
    328
    252
    231
See reviews for
335
646
43
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Arlington hotel is a beautiful hotel with a lot of history. Upon our arrival, the valet attendant was present to give us our ticket, however when my vehicle was retrieved the attendant did not open my car door. Upon our arrival back to the hotel, there were no valet attendants. As we sat there and waited, an valet attendant stands there and stares as myself and my passengers open our own car doors. Not to mention during checkout I noticed there were coke stains on the side of my car door. The only way for the coke stains to be on my car door was if the valet attendant slammed my door closed. My cup holder is not on my side door!
Our standard room was clean. We stayed for two nights. Our bath towels were not replaced despite housekeeping coming in to make our beds.Just an FYI the walls were thin and it was easy to hear the neighbors moaning and having a good time next door. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
I am so disappointed on the way you were treated in our valet area. Please trust that I have reviewed your concerns which are also mine. Every guest should be greeted and acknowledged. I was pleased that you found the room clean. In our green initiative sheets are not replaced every day but towels should have been changed.
Please accept my sincere apologies and appreciate your feedback on both the good and bad. It will only make the team better.


Bob Martorana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have been staying at the Arlington for years. It is an old historic hotel but still carries its charm. I would not stay anywhere else nor have I stayed anywhere else in Hot Springs. It is an old Hotel so I would not go expecting to see some great completely renovated hotel. It has its downsides. The rooms are hard to get the heat and cold adjusted unless you just relax and let the old hotel do its thing to keep you comfortable. Myself I like the older hotels with all of their history. If you think you are going to the taj mahal, think again. I hope I spelled that correctly. But the value I get from just the historic symbolence of this great old hotel is enough to keep me coming back three to six times a year just to relax and forget work. And lets not forget the surroundings, The Pancake Shop is a great morning stop. And the shops along the downtown streets are a great place to spend ones time. Stop in at pretty much any restaurant and you will find something great to eat as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pneu65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Our hotel really appreciates loyal customers who keep coming back year after year. In fact in our internal survey we have over 50 % repeat customers. At times it can be difficult to control the temperature when seasons change. We usually try and anticipate the best avenue of heating or air conditioning for comfort. Keep in mind there was no such thing as a/c when the hotel was first built in 1924.
The downtown area is alive with activity just about any time of year.

Bob Martorana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Had an amazing time! Stayed on the weekend and the hotel had dancing, music, and a great atmosphere. The trip was topped off with Sunday brunch and cocktails in the lobby. My friends had such a good time at our hotel, they actually left theirs to come over to the Arlington. It's also a great place to go for a stroll in the morning time, check out the natural springs, and enjoy the history.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank epigirl217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
A great gathering place for friends and family. Appreciate the feedback and getting your friends to stay with us.

Bob Martorana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tylertown, Mississippi
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have been coming to Hot Springs for over 40 years. We stay at the Arlington every time. I can honestly say that we have never had a bad experience. The Arlington Hotel is a treasure. Sure I would love to see the city of Hot Springs invest a few million dollars in upgrading this beautiful landmark, but who has that kind of money in this day and time? Again, if you want up to date and modern, please stay at one of the newer chain hotels. However, if you want a wonderful reminder of bygone elegance, stay at the Arlington, we always do!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank marilyn44064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for the 40 years of loyalty. We are trying to spend as much money as possible each and every year. New bedding a couple of years ago, pool area, ballroom and carpet.

Bob Martorana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

I am appalled at the reviews I have read about the Arlington. Clearly social media is not a reliable measure of quality.

This is still the grande dame of the South. A beautiful classic hotel with wifi. Each visit, often separated by a year or two, is like coming home. From the traditional spa to the fried donuts at the great Sunday bunch.

I really wonder about the other reviewers and what their agenda might be because if you are well travelled this a gem of a sadly bygone day.

Don't hesitate to give it a stay. You'll be glad you did and will realize how libelously skewed the reviews I've read for years have been.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Dochands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Appreciate your business and for coming back to the hotel. We really look forward to our repeat guests.

Bob Martorana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

It breaks my heart to give the Arlington Hotel an average. I've gone there for years and years. It's really changed they must have new owners or something. It all started with the bellman who helped with the luggage. He threw everything on the bed and he was just rude. Next we had TV problems. The remote wouldn't work. They brought another and then they had to bring in a new tv. This took up most of our evening. We oredered room service. The grilled cheese used to be a real gourmet treat. It was awful and avergae!! The room looked 85 years old. We waited for our car and it took us 20 minutes to get out of there. The old famous seafood buffett was so so so sad. Just a few fried choices. Way overpriced. My heart is broken..... Another good piece of America passes by.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank happytourist47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArlingtonGM, General Manager at Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
There are no excuses for the bell service and apologize for the condition of the TV and remote. I feel confident in the food quality with our new Chef and menu in 2013 for not only room service but the Seafood buffet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hot Springs hotels
0.6 mi away
The Hotel Hot Springs
The Hotel Hot Springs
#5 of 45 in Hot Springs
289 reviews
0.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hot Springs
0.1 mi away
The Waters
The Waters
#11 of 45 in Hot Springs
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
Lookout Point Lakeside Inn
#1 of 45 in Hot Springs
858 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
Comfort Suites Hot Springs
#4 of 45 in Hot Springs
461 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
Park Hotel of Hot Springs
#27 of 45 in Hot Springs
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: 239 Central Ave., Hot Springs, AR 71901
Location: United States > Arkansas > Hot Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 45 Hotels in Hot Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 484
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Arlington Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Resort Hotel And Spa
Arlington Hot Springs Arkansas
Arlington Resort Hot Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing