We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a great place to camp!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lake Catherine State Park

Lake Catherine State Park
Ranked #13 of 72 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers good hikes, but it can be humid.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not a great place to camp!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here for a week in site 69 and are nit enjoying it. Our view was the noisy power plant. The trail comes right behind our campsite and even though it is not the trail head people just cut through our campsite constantly. There is a water treatment building close to our site that is also very noisy and stinks sometimes. The campsite is not even close to being level so our sewer hose is actually going uphill so we are having issues with that. They don't mow and the place is just not that well kept. I would recommend staying at Lake Ouachita State Park because their full hook up sites are level and clean and well maintained. This is our first and last trip here.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Oomis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    101
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Arc, Arkansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good place for reunion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Every year we go for reunion. Clean well kept. Enjoy the lake. The only downside us the power plant across from the campsites.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JojoandDew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A day at the beach at Lake Catherine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lake Catherine is absolutely beautiful. The camping areas looked like they are kept very clean and the beach and pavilion was very nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ginamarielandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Family Camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent a week at Lake Catherine with our grandchildren. We will be back! The campsites were spacious and well designed. The restrooms were remodeled and kept clean. There were free organized daily activities for the children. There was a clean swimming beach. The trails were well laid out. Note: for a short walk to the waterfall, run the trail backwards. There was a nice swimming hole at the waterfall. There were good fishing spots for the kids, and friendly help at the bait shop/marina.
I had booked our site on line, and when we got there our trailer wouldn't fit. Even though the park was full, Clint in the office was able to find us a cancellation for the first three nights of our stay, and then worked his magic and found us another site for the rest of the week. Overflow with electricity would have been available , but a regular site was so much nicer. Clint was truly a wonder. He was calm, collected, organized and had such a nice friendly manner as he helped everyone at the check in desk.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 66wanderlust2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs Arkansas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for hiking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and I took our family on a hike and discovered beautiful waterfalls and the best trails around.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daffodildawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Catherine State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Catherine State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing