We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”

Lake Catherine State Park
Ranked #11 of 78 things to do in Hot Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Offers good hikes, but it can be humid.
Little Rock
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Lake Catherine is a beautiful, serene, un-crowded lake in the heart of the state. The state park offers camping & also cabins for rent. We love to go whenever we can!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    110
    20
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“It has everything that a state park should have.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stated at one of its cabins there. The cabin was okay. But the park itself was great. There were a lot of trials that people can go. And waterfall was beautiful. It's a great place for a short weekend get-away.

Helpful?
2 Thank cindyjan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayflower, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great place to fish, camp, and swim”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

A small enough lake to swim, yet big enough to fish. We have spent several different vacations here. We planned at least three of our family reunions here. A very pretty lake. Camping, cabins, parks and restaurants, This lake is great for a private getaway, or a family function. Not too far from downtown Hot Springs. A great place to visit.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jrenay72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Stillness of waters....!!”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is a very amazing and well maintained state park. Certainly worth camping and out door.

They do have park rental for Marina activities and you do have horse stables within to enjoy intense wild life (I viewed bucks, spotted deers, coyatte and a wolf) all within a 2.5 mile round trip equine walk.

Very beautiful swim zones to relish the sun and extensive water front for scenics as well as water sport.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lakshmi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely campgrounds”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I did not camp or utilize the boating facilities, but I drove through the area and it was very well maintained, with spacious sites. I will plan a trip there soon!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TexanRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Catherine State Park also viewed

 

Been to Lake Catherine State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing