We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheesy but interesting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gangster Museum of America

Gangster Museum of America
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cheesy but interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

We generally avoid this type of attraction, but on a recommendation we decided to try it. The term museum is a little misleading as it is a guided tour of the exhibits and accompanying videos, rather than the typical museum where one can go through the exhibits at their own pace. Our guide was dressed like the mobsters in the movies and delivered quite a good presentation of the highlights of the exhibits. Apparently Hot Springs was the "neutral ground" for the crime families back in the day, and off-limits for the typical battles between the families. The alliance of the crime families also had the cops paid off, which made the city a safe place to hide out. The museum has done a credible job of capturing what Hot Springs life was like back then and has kept it interesting and informative. Smithsonian it's not, but it is an hour or two of informative entertainment for a reasonable price.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Garyandcyndi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    119
    86
    30
    28
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, MA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“You'll learn things you never imagined...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hey, it looks like it's going to be hokey, but it's very informative and a lot of fun. Hot Springs was "Vegas before there was Vegas", and you'll learn all about it through pictures, artifacts and the very droll tour guide (at least on our visit). Our friend who'd lived in Hot Springs for decades told us he learned many, many things that he didn't know previously. It's an hour worth spending to understand why Hot Springs is and was important and, especially, what made it so unique.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SailorToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
League City, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The real Hot Springs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

For a true feeling of what made Hot Springs what is today you can not visit HS without seeing the museum. The evolution of the city and the colorful past are presented with a view into the underworld that many places are embarrassed to show. The history lessons are informative and entertaining. A must do to understand the real Hot Springs. The bathes drew the gangsters and the atmosphere, gambling and laid back feeling of neutral ground kept them coming back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jbow34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We missed the first part of the tour so our experience was a little lacking. But we did learn a lot. Of course we have all heard of Al Capone, Pretty boy Floyd and all those other guys but I never knew they were outside Chicago or New York. But they all had a big presence in Hot Springs. I like going to a museum and learning something new.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jorjie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bay, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Fun tour to take. Lots of instresting facts about the old days in Hot Springs and the old gangsters that stayed there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KSpencer68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gangster Museum of America also viewed

 

Been to Gangster Museum of America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing