We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks and crab legs”
Review of Salty Oyster Grill - CLOSED

Salty Oyster Grill
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great steaks and crab legs”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Once we found the restaurant, we were seated quickly and brought homemade hush puppies with our drinks. They had just the right amount of sweetness and were hot and crunchy.

One of us ordered steak and one the steak and crab legs. The steaks seemed larger than 10 oz, and were seasoned and cooked perfectly. The crab legs were huge! They peeled easily too. Great dinner and service by really friendly staff

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Technoteachertx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    29
    14
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pineville, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

After reading the more recent reviews, we decided to visit this restaurant. We weren't very impressed. Most of the items that were ordered were extremely salty. The "award winning" fish was overcooked and didn't have much flavor. The best things that were eaten were the hush puppies and the burgers. Those were GREAT. The staff was very friendly also.

Helpful?
2 Thank TaeKen805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well worth eating here.”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The food was good quality, hand battered and fresh. We had the sampler platter, the fried food was lightly battered, crisp and delicious. The best stuffed mushrooms I have honestly ever eaten. I had the oyster poboy. This was very good. The bread was fresh, and the lettuce tomato and onion fresh and crunchy, and Gulf oysters delicious. My friend had a hamburger, and said it was very good. the other had the shrimp/crawfish fettuccini. The shrimp were good sized plump and fresh Gulf shrimp. Although the food was fried, it sat well in my stomach. Not the usual heavy over salted feeling! A big plus, the bathrooms were very clean and tidy. A very good sign in a restaurant! The service was excellent, the people there were very nice. We will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank IsabellaCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyed the atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Friendly staff, great food, and wonderful atmosphere! Located right off the 270 bypass on Airport road. The hush puppies were amazing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I absolutely loved the Christian atmosphere”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

The food was a little overcooked it did taste great but the service was beyond awesome Jimmy was by far the friendliest server I've met during my stay here I was VERY impressed with the Christian feel you guys are great

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty Oyster Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing